Book Review: Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Hi Readers

Today I am going to review The Upside of Unrequited, a new (unexpected) favourite.

Booktubeathon Books

Published: 11th April 2017 by Balzer + Bray

Source: Library

Length: 336 Pages

Goodreads Avg. Rating: 4.08

My Rating: 90/100 *****
As I said, I was not expecting to love this book. I thought it would be a quick easy read for the BookTubeAThon but quickly forgettable (as I did with her first novel, which I thought was just alright.)

However I ended up becoming obsessed with this book. It was a quick read because I couldn’t stop turning the pages and I ended up loving everything about it.

This follows 17 year old Molly who has never gotten past the crush stage (relatable.) But when her twin sister gets a new girlfriend and she’s introduced to her hipster friend she decides it’s time to end her fear of rejection. And then a nerdy, GOT loving work colleague comes into the picture, who definitely isn’t crush material, right?

So lets get into what this book has. Everything. The characters are great, they are flawed and diverse and I really enjoyed reading about them and found them to be very relatable. 

The parents were awesome. They were always present and always saying exactly the right stuff. At one point I was actually teared up when they talked to Molly about growing up because it was so relatable and they said is so perfectly. They were GOOD PARENTS, in a YA NOVEL. Authors take note.

The representation was on point. Becky Albertalli is definitely an author who makes writing diverse books seem so effortless, again, authors take note. It has a MC who struggles with body image, mixed race couples, LGBT+ couples, anxiety in teenagers, and it’s all so well done. 

Also love that this book doesn’t just centre around romance. It’s about family love, sisterly love, friendships, growing up, being a teenager. However I do also really love the romance. 

This book is a fun quick read that will stay with you after finishing it. I highly recommend this. 

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

