BookTubeAThon 2017 Wrap Up

booktubeathon

Hi Readers

Another booktubeathon has come and gone and I had a whale of a time. The sprints, the instagram challenges, the daily vlogs and, of course, the books read.

This year the books I read were a hit or miss for me. I either loved it so much it could possibly make it into or I hated it.  

I was planning on doing daily updates but I decided I just wanted to focus on reading and I’m glad I did because I was able to read 11 (and a bit) books (almost.)

Day 1

I didn’t get off to the best start. I woke up for the first sprints and decided I wanted to read 11/22/63 by Stephen King first. However, I only got 80 pages in before I DNF it. It lost my interest pretty quickly. 

So I decided to pick up Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel (which I had to get on my kindle because my library didn’t get it in on time.) I wasn’t really expecting to enjoy this, and I didn’t. I gave it 2 stars.

Then in the evening I started Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

Day 2

I started off by finished Ready Player One which I really enjoyed although it’s definitely something I would’ve appreciated more if I were a gamer. I gave it 4 stars.

And then I spent the rest of the day painfully trying to read Around the World in 80 Days. Wow this book was boring, most of the travelling was just naming towns and rail lines and the suspenseful part wasn’t suspenseful to me. I gave it 2 stars.

Day 3

I was able to read two books on day 3. The first was Troubling Love by Elena Ferrante which was 130 pages. I was really disappointed and had to give it one star. But I will say you shouldn’t judge her on this book. It’s her debut and I feel like everything she tries to do in this book she gets right in Neapolitan Novels (which I highly recommend).

Then I read Upside of Unrequited and I’m so glad I did. I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. It has everything, super cute romance that I ship, relatable main character, excellent on the point representation and parents who are actually good at being parents. I think we should all have lesbian Mums. 5 Stars.

Day 4

I decided to read Crooked Kingdom because I randomly found out it was the booksplosion book of the month and I saw so many people reading. So, even though I hated the first one I convinced myself to give it another go. I wish I hadn’t. This duology just doesn’t do anything for me. 2 Stars.

Then I started Golden Boy by Abigail Tatellin and got 50 pages in. But, then the twitter sprints started and they were Disney themed and I remembered a certain tie in book that came free with a certain DVD and was HOW COULD I NOT? So I read Beauty and the Beast book of the film and surprisingly really enjoyed it. I gave it 5 stars (but that’s more for the movie.)

Day 5

Day 5 I slowed down a little (honestly because of Crooked Kingdom) so I only finished Golden Boy. I loved this book though. I learnt about Intersex and how it effects and seeing as I knew nothing about it before I am really thankful for that. I gave it 4 stars.

Day 6

I read half of My Family and Other Animals and then in the evening I started and finished The Humans by Matt Haig which I loved. I was not expecting humour and mockery of human beings but this book had me cracking up multiple times. I gave it 4 stars, I highly recommend it.

Day 7

On the last day I finshed My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell and I loved it. I never watched the ITV TV show of this (but I will now) but I fell in love with this family and their antics. Another book that had me in stitches. 

Then I got stuck on what to read so I decided to reread an old favourite and picked up I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I can’t believehow much of the plot I had but I still loved it so much and left my rating at 5 stars.

I ended the BookTubeAThon with starting Daughter of Smoke and Bone and read 138 pages of it before the final sprint ended. 

Overall

Challenges:

  • Person on the Cover: Completed – Troubling Love
  • Hyped Book: Completed – Upside of Unrequited
  • Start and Finished a Book In A Day: Completed – The Humans by Matt Haig
  • A Character Different From Me: Completed – Golden Boy
  • Reading A Book Completely Outside: Nope, lol.
  • A Cover Buy: Completed – Around the World In 80 Days

Instagram Challenges:

Insta Challenges

Books Completed:

Juniper Lemons Happiness Index by Julie Israel (2 Stars)
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (4 Stars)
Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne (2 Stars)
Troubling Love by Elena Ferrante (1 Star)
Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (5 Stars)
Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (2 Stars)
Beauty and the Beast book of the film (5 Stars)
Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin (4 Stars)
The Humans by Matt Haig (4 Stars)
My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell (4 Stars)
I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson (5 Stars)

Booktubeathon Books.jpg

Let me know if you took part in BookTubeAThon and how you did!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

3 thoughts on “BookTubeAThon 2017 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

