A Month Of Reading: July 2017

Hi Readers

I know what you’re probably thinking, how can I do a month of reading when there’s still over a week left of the month? Well, next week, the last week of the month, is the Booktubeathon (tbr coming soon) which I am going to be doing daily updates and an overall wrap up for.

So basically I’ve split this month into two parts.

I am so grateful that the BookTubeathon is next week because so far this month my reading has not been so good. I’ve DNF’ed three books and read three books, and I haven’t been overly impressed with any of them.

DNF’ed:

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas: I was so looking forward to this but it lost my interest. I did get 300 pages in though and will give it another go sometime. 

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown: Is it me, or is this book very similar to Angels and Demons? 

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy: I know, I shouldn’t have bothered. I only wanted to read this because of The Great Comet of 1812 but I’ve never really cared about reading this book and it turns out the musical is based on literally 20 pages of this book.

Read:

One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus – 37/100 **

I did a full review of this here.

Basically I was really looking forward to this, it’s marketed as a kind of The Breakfast Club retelling murder mystery but in the end it didn’t overly impress me. I will say it’s a fun quick read but I wasn’t a fan of the end. 

Unexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenze – 27/100 **

I don’t think I’ve ever been this disappointed in a book. The plot didn’t really go anywhere. Honestly this book just seems so pointless. 

Assassins Apprentice by Robin Hobb – 56/100 ***

I kind of went into a bit of a reading slump but then I suddenly got the urge to read a fantasy, which is weird because lately I’ve been saying I no longer like fantasy novels. 

I actually enjoyed reading this, I love the main character, who is a bastard of a Prince and starts training as an Assassin to become useful to the royal family. In this novel we see him grow up and he’s such a likeable character for me he’s what made the book. Unfortunately I found a lot of the other characters to be a bit bland. 

Next Few Days:

There’s still a few days before the BookTubeathon actually starts so I do plan on reading a couple of books before then. 

Tenant Of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte: I am currently in the middle of this one and will hopefully finish it in the next couple of days. 

Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb: This is the next in the series and I want to read them all close together so I can do a trilogy review. 

My next post will hopefully be my TBR for the BookTubeathon

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

