Overly Large Classics Book Haul

Hi Readers

I don’t know how this happened but since the last book haul I have grown a sudden interest in reading those huge intimidating classics I always thought I would stay away from. And bought them all. Opps.

The Count Of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas – I’ve already DNF’ed this. Characters just seemed flat to me.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – I actually started with this one and you’re going to laugh at my reason. I never thought I would read this but recently an amazing musical Natasha and Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812 opened on broadway and the cast recording is so beautiful. Basically, I had to read this.

Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell – I don’t have any initial plans to read this but I saw it for 50p and I know I want to get to it one day.

The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco – I don’t know why I bought this and I don’t know when I’m going to get to this.

Shirley by Charlotte Bronte – Eventually I want to have read all of the Bronte books so I’ slowly building up my collection of their books. I loved Charlotte’s Jane Eyre so hopefully this is just as good. 

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte – This will be read very soon because Anne is the only Bronte I haven’t read yet.

Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne – I never thought I would read this book. But honestly this cover was irresistible. 

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Nishiguro – I’ve heard such amazing things about Kazuo Nishiguro I can’t wait to finally read one of his books. 

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

Leave a Reply

