Book Review: One of Us Is Lying

Hi Readers

I was lucky enough to get this on netgalley (about a month ago now, opps) and I have finally got around to reading it.

Image result for one of us is lying

Published: May 30th 2017 by Delacorte Press

Source: Netgalley

Length 370 Pages

Goodreads Rating: 4.07 Stars

My Rating: 37/100 **

This book caught my interest basically the minute I read the premise.

A Princess, a Jock, a Criminal, a Nerd and an Outcast get detention. Sound familiar? Yes, this book was inspired by The Breakfast Club, one of my favourite movies. But this has a twist. By the end of the detention, one of them is dead.

I know, sounds epic right? So even though recently I’ve been really disinterested in YA I had to read it. But I can’t say it lived up to my expectations.

I did enjoy it I will say that. It wasn’t a chore to read and I never wanted to DNF it It reminded me of a mix between The Breakfast Club, Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars. All of which I love. So in that sense it was a fun read.

But I have problems with it. First with the multiple POV’s. They were written like the Allegiant duel POV. If it wasn’t for the fact it had a name at the top of each POV I would have had no idea who I was reading because they were all too similar.

The characters I did like though. While they were stereotypical ‘not the stereotype’ type (like the pretty girl is also smart). I liked the growth and seeing them becoming friends through the shared experience of being murder suspects (it’s definitely a new way of getting friends.)

As for the murder mystery itself. I did guess it but still while reading it I had no idea what was actually going to happen and that made it a real page turner. The reveal itself didn’t make me feel anything. I didn’t gasp and I wasn’t shook. Which I feel like any good mystery book should do.

If you’ve read it, let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading

Jess X

One thought on “Book Review: One of Us Is Lying

Leave a Reply

