A Month Of Reading: June 2017

Hi Readers

Well. June happened. And somehow I was able to read 11 books (and start a few others). And, tbh, I wasn’t overly impressed by the books I read.

Finished:

Neapolitan Novels (2-4) by Elena Ferrante (overall 5 star series) *****

A summer-y series set in a impoverished neighbourhood Napels, Italy. We follow Elena as she recounts her life along with her relationships and friendships. Perfect for fans of Jane Austen.

These books are the only ones I LOVED this month. Possibly my favourite series of all time (after HP.) I loved everything about these books. I became invested in Elena’s life and the writing and characters just blew me away. 

I have a full review of the series here.

LoTR P2&3 by J.R.R. Tolkien (overall 3 stars) ***

A classic in fantasy. Tell’s the tales of Hobbits, Elves, Dwarves and Men on their journey to destroy the Ring and defeat the Dark Lord. 

I just don’t think these are for me. The problem is I genuinely cannot fault it. It’s so clever and beautifully written and it is the best fantasy novels ever written. I just can’t get into them and always feel like I’m forcing myself to. 

The Good Immigrant by Various Authors 65/100 ***

A non-fiction collection of essays by black, Asian, ethnic minorities living in Britain. 

This was slightly disappointing. This is marketed as a collection of essays written by immigrants however basically none of the writers are actually immigrants, they’re descendants of immigrant’s. Almost all of them were born in the UK. 

However this does have some very interesting stories from BAME living in Britain and the racism and prejudices and various other things they experience because of their race. 

I’ve done a review here.

The Power by Naomi Alberman 67/100 ***

A sci-fi novel that explores a world where women are given a Power against men. 

This one I feel very conflicted over. On one hand I love the concept and the execution was on point. But I just didn’t love it. I have a full review going up this Sunday to explain why.

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier 60/100 ***

When Philips cousin and guardian dies, Philip suspects his cousins new wife, Rachel.

Yep. Another disappointment. I just didn’t find the story as engrossing as Rebecca and the ending was a bit of a let down.

His Dark Materials (Unrated)

In this children’s classic we follow Lyra in a world where everyone has Daemens, children are disappearing, parallel worlds are being travelled and Dust is causing quite a stir. 

Yeah I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this. I tried reading it before and the same thing happened before. I got bored during the second book. However this time I was determined to finish it and I did, but I didn’t properly read it. More like skim read. So I don’t feel I can rate it.

 

Will Finish It Later:

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry – I knew this would be a struggle and it was. I got about 50 pages in. I don’t know if I’ll pick it up to finish it. Maybe one day.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – I fell victim to the power that Broadway has over me. Have you heard of The Great Comet of 1812 musical? Well, if you haven’t you should really go listen to it. And when you do let me know if it makes you feel like War and Peace is a must read, because that’s what happened to me.

I’ve never been interested in War and Peace but this musical made me feel like I HAD to. I’m over that now though so I don’t know when I’ll finish this. 

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – Ugh. I don’t understand. Why is this so famous and loved? To me, it’s almost exactly the same as the first one. I am only 40 pages through so I might finish it, but I’m not too fussed anymore. 

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas – Another huge classic. This is like a big no no, to read two huge classics at once but I’m going to put War and Peace aside until I’ve finished this one because so far I’m loving it. Like, a lot.

So, that’s what I read in June. I can’t believe it’s July but there is one thing I’m seriously looking forward to this month. BOOKTUBEATHON!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

 

Leave a Reply

