Book Review: The Good Immigrant by Various Authors

Hi Readers

This book sparked my interest the minute I first heard about it, mainly because of the subject of immigrants in Britain and the fact that it gave 21 immigrants a chance to share their stories.

Image result for the good immigrant

Published: 22nd September 2016

Publisher: Unbound

Source: Library Book

Length: 272 Pages

Goodreads Avg Rating: 4.46

My Rating: 65/100 (3 Stars)

Synopsis:

This is an anthology of essays written by 21 BAME as they share their experiences with racism, stereotypes, culture and their identity as an immigrant living in the UK.

Review:

As I said, the minute I heard the premise of this book I knew I had to read it right away because this is a book that has been needed for a long time now. 

The problems I had with this book (and the reason it ended up with a 3 star rating) is that a lot of issues were repeated. It shows that ethnic groups all experience the same type of prejudice but it can make it a bit of a dull read at times. Also, not all of the stories were stand out, or were even relatively good.

That being said, it’s definitely still worth a read.

This is a book that gave immigrants (or people who’s families were immigrants) in the UK a place to speak. To give them a voice. To call white people out on the ignorant and hurtful things they say and do. 

As I was reading this it actually made me uncomfortable (but not in a bad way) because it definitely opened up my eyes to just how ignorant I am of other cultures. I was definitely aware of this before because this is something that I’ve seen discussed a lot on twitter, but I never realised the amount of cultural appropriation that blatantly happens in the western world.

One story I connected with was actually really surprising. As a pre-teen I would sit down and watch Eastenders with my family and an actor who was part of the Masood family wrote an essay for this book. He talked about what good representation the Masood family was for Muslims in the UK and I’d never thought of that (being a pre-teen. it was nice to here his take on it.

Something that quite a few of the essays talk about is something I’m sure every one in the book community has seen discussed at some point and that it representation in the media. If anyone ever says to you they don’t understand why we should bother with diversity, point them towards this book. 

Let me know if you’ve read this book and what you thought of it

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

