Summer TBR (2017)

Hi Readers

It’s June, which means summer is officially on the horizon. I’m going to admit, I hate summer. I hate the heat, I hate the summer holidays (trust me, you’ll agree when you leave school). But I must admit, there is something really nice about being able to sit outside in the sun with a book and an ice cream. 

I have some really exciting books planned for the summer so here they are:

The Baileys Prize Winner – As this goes up we still have two days before the winner is announced. I was planning on trying to get more involved with this years shortlist and try and read them all and guess who was going to win, but that didn’t happen. So, I’ll just be reading the winner. 

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry – This was longlisted for the baileys prize and I have heard some great things about this. I waited for months to get this from the library because it’s so popular where I live (probably because I live in Essex). I finally have it so it will be read soon.

Neapolitan Series by Elena Ferrante – I’m speeding through these books and will probably be finished with them soon (I’m aiming for this weekend.) I was not expecting to love these books as much as I do. Please, read them this summer. 

Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – I’ve been saying I’m going to read this for ages. It has to happen eventually. 

Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas – I’m very excited about this book. But also a little weary. I mean, it huge! 

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – I’m actually a little weary about reading this one as well, mainly because of the topic. However, I can’t help but be a little intrigued as well. 

Cats Eye by Margeret Atwood – I read somewhere that the Neapoliton Novels reminds someone of Cats Eye, so, if I get a book hangover once I’ve finished the series, maybe this could get me out of it. 

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R.Carey – I have never read a zombie book before but from what I’ve heard this is so much more than that. 

Inexplicable Logic of my Life by Benjamin A. Seanze – I loved Ari and Dante and his most recent release has gotten a lot of praise. I’m excited. 

The Good Immigrant by Various Authors – I plan on finishing this soon so I can have a review up soon. So far, it’s a beautiful and amazingly important book. 

LoTR by J.R.R. Tolkien – I plan on rereading The Two Towers and finally reading Return of the King. It may take all summer but I’m determined to finish it.

Let me know what you plan on reading this summer

Thanks for reading 

Jess X

 

11 thoughts on “Summer TBR (2017)

  1. This is such a great list! I’m excited to see what book comes out on top for The Bailey’s Prize, and I’ll also be reading The Count of Monte Cristo this summer. Additionally, I’ve started the Poison Study series and will be reading The Stars are Fire by Anita Shreve. Good luck to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lolita is so good! I was a little wary of reading it because of the topic too, but I love it! It’s so beautifully written and so interesting, and it’s never explicit or anything, which makes it easier to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been meaning to read The Count of Monte Cristo too! I’m currently working my way through the Hugo award nominees for Best Novel, which should take me through July, but maybe in August I’ll look at The Count of Monte Cristo!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh they’re awards for the best science-fiction and fantasy genre works each year. This year’s group of nominees is really diverse and interesting (which is nice to see in a traditionally white male dominated genre) so I committed to reading them all before the awards are announced in August.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

