Month of Reading: May 2017

Hi Readers

I had an amazing reading month. I actually ended up reading 11 books and I loved quite a few of them.

Public Libraries by Ali Smith: 50/100 ***

This is a short story collection that also has some non-fiction prefaces about people’s experiences with libraries and how we shouldn’t let me die out. It actually inspired me to right ‘this’ post on falling back in love with libraries. Ali Smiths writing never disappoints but not all of the short stories stuck with me.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas: 41/100 ***

I actually forgot this was coming out this month and when I realised I was so unprepared. I quickly skim read the first two to refresh my memory but then when I started reading this I will admit I got bored. Rhys became very flat in this one and don’t even get me started on the writing. I think I’m done with SJM.

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen: 35/100 **

Probably my least favourite of Austen’s novels. I found it very boring, none of the characters really stood out for me. In fact, the more I read of her the more I realised how repetitive her themes and stories are. 

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: 64/100 ***

I didn’t like this one as much as History is All You Left Me. I felt the pacing was off and some of the characters were really underdeveloped for me. However I loved the added sci/fi element to the contemporary novel and the overall message.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas: 62/100 ***

I hate that I only gave this 3 stars. This is one of those reads where I actually feel bad for not loving it as much as everyone else does.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen: 60/100 ***

I enjoyed this one. Loved the sisterly bond, the romance in this is also one of my favourites of Jane Austens. Definitely in my top 3 of favourite Austen novels. Finishing this meant I’ve now read all of Jane’s books.

Big Little Lies by Liane Morairty: 85/100 ****

I have a review of this which you can find here: Big Little Lies Review. But as you can see from the rating, I really enjoyed it.

The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Thatcher: 80/100 ****

This is the first time I’ve reread it since studying it during my A levels. The show started airing on Sunday in the UK so I had to refresh my memory of it first. This is a dystopian classic about the loss of freedom. Some seriously messed up stuff happens in this book.

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante: 85/100 ****

I was not expecting to love this so much, but I’m obsessed. I’m onto the second book now and I’m going to do a series review once I’ve read them all because the way they read they could be one huge book. 

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare: 39/100 **

I was so excited for this, but I found myself getting bored. I found a lot of things very obvious, I don’t really like the whole forbidden romance anymore. I think YA fantasy just isn’t for me at the moment. 

Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien: 74/100 ****

I’ve decided to give Lord of the Rings another go. I do like this, the writing is beautiful and the story is exciting. It’s just got so many names and places it’s hard to follow and can be so slow to get through. I just need to not rush the reading of this. 

Let me know what your favourite read was this month!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

2 thoughts on “Month of Reading: May 2017

Leave a Reply

