Book Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Hi Readers

The Big Little Lies Mini-Series starring Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley and Reese Witherspoon has gotten so much hype since it’s release but, of course, I had to read the book first.

Image result for big little lies book Published: July 29th 2014

Publisher: Berkley

Source: Kindle

Length: 480 Pages

Goodreads Avg. Rating: 4.19

My Rating: 85/100 (4 Stars)

Synopsis:

Big Little Lies is set in a idyllic town on the Australian coast and follows three women who all have children entering Kindergarten. We follow them as they go through parent-hood, battles with ex husbands and second wives, and the months leading up to a murder.

Review:

Honestly I was not expecting to love it as much as I did.

It’s cleverly structured, the novel starts out with a murder investigation but then the plot starts a few months before the murder so the entire time while reading it you’re wondering who’s dead. 

However, the only thing I have a problem with was that honestly I couldn’t tell the difference between the three womens POV’s. The only way I could tell who it was was by their story line. They didn’t really have their own style.

Moriarty just gets parents, I especially found the mother/teen-daughter relationship, although frustrating, was so honest. It was actually hard to read at times because I hated how Abigail treated her mum. It’s my first time reading that sort of interaction from the perspective of the mother and it definitely gave me more respect for all mothers out there 

This book is not always an easy read, in fact it’s probably the funniest book I’ve ever read that also has such hard topics such as sexual and domestic abuse.

The ending was the best thing about this book. So many jaw-dropping reveals. It had me screaming and shouting and jumping off my seat (literally) in surprise. 

If you’re looking for your next beach read, I would highly suggest this one. 

Let me know if you’ve read the book

Thanks for reading

Jess X

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

  1. I couldn’t resist watching the pilot episode of the series (the cast of women is amazing!) before starting the book, but before I continue watching I want to read it – I’m glad you found it to be as indulgent as the TV series portrays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

