Summer Reading: Recommendations

Note: Top 5 Wednesday was created by GingerReadsLainey and is hosted by ThoughtsonTomes on the Goodreads Group.

3120fb3d144294430cb4ce90b4087d97

Hi Readers

This weeks Top 5 Wednesday topic is to pick your top 5 books that remind you of summer. I was planning on doing a blog post like this anyway so I’m going to give you my top 5 and some extras. 

5. Morgan Matson: I love all of hers, they’re all perfect for summer. 

4. The Hobbit and LOTR: I always think of contemporary when it comes to Summer but this fantasy series would be a great Summer read. 

3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett: I’m not the biggest fan of historical fiction but this one is just perfect.

2. Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ee: This is the perfect beach read. It’s so quick and un-put-downable. 

1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe: This book just screams summer. 

Extras –

Stephanie Perkins: Anna and the French Kiss is definitely the best. So. Cute. 

Jane Austen: Pride and Prejudice is my favourite but I also think Emma would make a good Summer read. 

The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks: Yes, I went through a Sparks phase. Blame Miley Cyrus. I haven’t watched the movie in ages but this book is so summery. 

Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller: A fantasy with a lot of romance, perfect for those who don’t like mushy YA contemporaries.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown: If you’re more into thrillers than contemporaries than give this a shot this summer.

Let me know if you did this weeks T5W!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

5 thoughts on “Summer Reading: Recommendations

  1. I think The Help is probably one of my favorite books that I have EVER read in my entire life!!! I could read it any season any time.

    Anna and the French Kiss is a perfect choice, and so is The Hobbit IMO. I know it’s not technically contemporary, like you said, but I feel like the vibe and adventure lead it to being a more fun, summery read.

    My T5W: https://writethroughthenight.wordpress.com/2017/05/17/top-5-wednesday-my-not-so-perfect-summer-reads/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

