(Dewey Wrap Up) A Month of Reads: April

Hi Guys

I’m basically going to call this the month of Austen because I binge-read ‘almost’ all of Jane Austens books and loved every second of it.

I also took part in a couple of readathons this month. The Tome Topple Readathon, which I did a wrap up for so you can click ‘here’ to see what I thought of those books, and the Dewey’s 24hr readathon, which only finished yesterday so I’m just going to add my wrap up for that in this one.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: 93/100 *****

I just got the sudden urge to reread this and I love it. I still have two Austen books to go but I reckon this is going to stay my favourite of hers. I love the Bennett sisters and all their different personalities, and, of course, I love Mr Darcy. 

Cress and Winter by Merissa Meyer: 25/100 **

This series just wasn’t for me. I didn’t like the whole space futuristic thing, I found the character either dull or tropey. 

  • Tome Topple: Emma by Jane Austen and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen: 75/100 ****

There’s always something about Jane’s heroines that makes me love them, and with Katherine it was her love for books. This is called Jane’s parody to gothic stories and I found that quite comical which I love because I feel like that was intentional. 

Persuasion by Jane Austen: 73/100 ****

This has been called Jane’s best novel by a lot of critics and I can definitely see why. Anne was a lot more mature than most of Jane’s other heroines, if you found yourself annoyed by Emma’s snobbishness or Katherine’s ignorance you should give Persuasion a go. 

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig: 85/100 ****

I was accepted for a review copy from Netgalley so a full review of this is coming Friday. But I loved this one. 

Dewey’s 24Hr Readathon:

I would actually say that this round of deweys was quite successful. Normally I completely fail at sticking to my TBR or staying awake but I actually got to 4 of the books on my TBR and only slept for 3 1/2 hours. 

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera: 79/100 ****

I loved this book. It had me crying one minute and laughing the next. I love the way it was told and I love the characters. It has everything I enjoy in YA books. 

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman: 71/100 ****

This was a very good retelling. It had a mix of Snow White and Sleeping Beauty and I loved it, the drawings were also beautifully drawn. 

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Arbetelli: 41/100 ***

I don’t really think this was anything special, I must say I was a bit disappointed after hearing so many people gushing about it. But I did enjoy it. 

Lady Susan by Jane Austen: 47/100 ***

Honestly I think reading this on the kindle ruined my experience of this a little. This is a story told through letters and it felt so wrong to read letters on a digital device. 

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie (have not finished yet) 

Public Library by Ali Smith (haven’t finished yet.)

So that’s what I read during April. I’m so happy with this reading month and now it’s May which means ALL THE RELEASES!

Leave a Reply

