Tome Topple Wrap Up

Hi Guys

The past couple of weeks I have kind of casually been taking part in the Tome Topple readathon. I say casually because I haven’t just been reading Tomes in those two weeks, but today I’m just going to share with you the Tomes I read. 

Emma by Jane Austen

For the past couple of weeks I have been trying to get through all of Jane Austen’s works and have been loving it. There’s something so cosy and comforting about Jane’s characters and writing.

I thought I was going to hate Emma but honestly I liked it a lot, it’s not my favourite Austen (that is still held by Pride and Prejudice) but I actually really enjoyed Emma as a character. I didn’t hate her like so many other people do, I find her quite amusing, even if she did make my eye’s role sometimes. 

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I can tell a lot of people are going to be surprised, but boy did this book disappoint me. I just found it to be so bland, the characters where so tropey and I didn’t find the world to be particularly interesting (which I found in the Grisha trilogy as well.) I was planning on reading this and the sequel for the readathon but to be honest I just don’t care, so I didn’t end up reading the sequel.

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

I must admit, I thought I had an extra day to read this, but it turns out the readathon ended yesterday (Thursday) so I don’t. I wanted to finish part 1 by the end of the readathon but unfortunately I’m only half way through and I’m already struggling. You’ll find out in my Monthly Reads whether I finished it or not.

Let me know how you did!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

Leave a Reply

