I Like Big Books (and i cannot lie)

Hi Guys!

At the moment I am taking part in the Tome Topple readathon (even as I’m typing this I’m listening to the Emma audiobook) so I thought I would make a post celebrating all of my favourite big books. 

I find big books intimidating, sure, but I also love them. I love spending longer with a characters, I love that you get more for your money, I love big books. Here are some of my favourites:

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – This is probably the most intimidating book I have ever read, not only is it huge it’s also a classic originally written in Russian, so I knew it would be a challenging one. But honestly, it was so worth it. I felt so accomplished when finishing it and I loved Tolstoy’s depiction on love and feelings. 

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – This book still stands as my favourite Bronte and I think the fact that it is the biggest Bronte novel helps with that. Jane Eyre is a character you sympathise and fall in love with immediately and this book is so well written I never wanted it to end. 

The Princess Bride by William Goldman – Probably the shortest on this list but I still need to talk about it. This is a standalone fantasy that has EVERYTHING. Love, sword fights, hot guys, hot girls, humour, friendship, and with it being a story in a story means you get some contemporary stuff too. This book is the ultimate book for book lovers.

Brandon Sanderson (Author) – All of his books are huge but so far I’ve only read Warbreaker and the Mistborn trilogy and I loved both. He writes the most awesome fantasy books so if you like fantasy you should seriously check him out.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown – Another huge big with such a gripping epic story line that you will not want to put it down and you will fly through it.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak – I don’t think I’ve ever talked about this book before because I read it before making this blog. But omg do I love this book. It shows a completely different side to the war and the narrative makes it so special. Read this. 

What are some of your favourite big books?

Thanks for reading

Jess X

2 thoughts on “I Like Big Books (and i cannot lie)

  1. A great selection of books, Jane Eyre is also one of my favorites. I would really like to read The Book Thief soon, I’ve read great things about it. One of my favorite big book is East of Eden by John Steinbeck. Enjoy the Tome Topple, I’m not participating but I’ve seen many who are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

