A Month of Reading: March

Hello Guys!

March was an off month for me. It may seem like I read a lot, but I didn’t. Sometimes I speed read because I’m not enjoying them and am just reading them to get them over and done with and this month I went through a lot of those. It does however mean that in March I can finally get back to reading books I actually want to read.

Harry Potter

Basically, I still haven’t watched Fantastic Beasts yet (but I’m watching it Saturday) and I really wanted to reread the HP books first, and really, when is a bad time to reread HP. I sped read Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix but I did actually read Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows. 

Miss Peregrines – Ransom Riggs

My first aim for this month was to finish the Miss Peregrines trilogy. Boy, did I struggle with these books. This series just was not for me, I don’t like books to do with time, I don’t really like sci-fi type monsters (which remind me of the Wights) and I also didn’t like the pictures. I gave Hollow City 2 stars and I sped read Library of Souls and gave it 1 star. 

Song of Achilles – Madeline Miller

I loved this book and was able to read this in one day. I’ve done a review of this which you can find here: Song of Achilles Review

Birdsong – Sebastion Faulks

I can barely say I read this but I just did not enjoy it. I just don’t think war fiction is for me. I didn’t give it a rating.

Scarlet – Marissa Meyer

I finally read it! I read Cinder quite a few years ago now (although strangely I remember all of it) but it has taken me so long to get through this book. I’ve picked it up so many times but could never get past chapter two. I don’t really know why because I actually really enjoyed this book, I love fairy tales and the characters in this are really enjoyable to read about. The only thing I struggled with was the whole futuristic sci/fi bit. I gave it 45/100 (3 Stars.)

The Glass Castle – Jeanette Walls

I have wanted to read this for ages but for some reason it took me years to finally give in and buy it. This is a non-fiction memoir following Jeanette’s childhood, with parents who struggle with coping with life and can’t look after her, she learns to look after herself. This book was not what I expected, I went into this thinking that the aim or it was to see how hard Jeanette’s life and despise her parents for not looking after her properly. But it’s a lot more complex than that. I couldn’t myself to hate them wholly. You have got to read this book. 

Americanah – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I started reading this in January but wasn’t enjoying it so I put it down and this month I decided I really should finish it. But I sped read the ending. I’m really surprised I didn’t enjoy this more. I gave it 38/100 (2 Stars.)

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Another one I’ve been in the middle of since January. I do actually like the story but hated the characters and struggled with the writing. I gave it 2 Stars.

Goodnight Stories fror Rebel Girls – Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo

I was sent this by the publisher and I’ve already reviewed it, which you can find here: Goodnight Stories Review.  This is a non-fiction story book that tells mini-biographies of inspirational and brave women from history. 

Hopefully April will be a better reading month.

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

Leave a Reply

