Review: Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls – Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo

Hi Guys

This book was sent to me by the publisher but all thoughts are my own, and my initial thought, I’m so excited to share this with you.IMG_3226.JPG

Publisher: Particular Books

Publication Date: 2nd March 2017

Length: 212 Pages

Avg. Goodreads Rating: 4:76

My Rating: 4 Stars

When I first heard of this book I immediately fell in love with it. It is a celebration of widely diverse extraordinary women whose revolutionary actions and achievements are told in the style of fairy tales. 

This book was published through crowd-funding. It raised over a million dollars, making it the most funded book in history (which gives me faith in the human race.)

Even though the stories are very short and simple and definitely aimed at young children I found it so fascinating. A lot of the women featured in this I had never heard of. I had no idea the amount of amazing strong women there are in our history or how long women have been rebelling. 

There is such a diverse amount of women represented in this. I was happy to see no one was left out, no matter what religion, sexuality, race and it even includes transgender women. All children can find someone to relate to and someone to learn from. This book is a good egg.

Each story is a mini biography and is accompanied with a beautiful illustration by female artists. It is a beautiful book and would make a wonderful gift if you know any young girls (or are even still looking for a good Mothers Day present).

I can just picture little girls eyes widening as they hear about the extraordinary things women have done and thinking ‘I could do that.’ This book encourages young girls to dream big and aim high. That there are better things than marrying a Prince Charming. 

Links to buy the book can be found here: Penguin Website

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls – Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo

  1. I’m reading this with my 4 year old daughter at the moment and I think it is my favourite book ever. It’s making her ask all kinds of questions about what girls can do and how the women in the book reacted when told they couldn’t do something. It’s a really inspiring book. And beautiful! I’m so glad so many people are talking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

