Book Review: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Hi Guys

I just finished The Song of Achilles in one sitting and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I thought I would share my thoughts with you today.

Image result for song of achilles

Published: 20th Sep 2011 by Bloomsbury

Source: Bought

Pages: 352

Goodreads Avg. Rating: 4.26

My Rating: 69/100 (3 Stars)

 

This is a mythological romance following the Greek hero Achilles and the exiled prince Patroclus. We see as their friendship becomes more, and how the Trojan war tests their love.

I don’t know a lot about greek myths and have never read the Illiad, which this book is based on. But every time I read a retelling of them I always get the urge to learn more about the originals and read more retelling’s. This book is basically a response to questions surrounding the two characters relationship in the Illiad as some people believe Patroclus and Achilles, although described as close friends, may be more than that.

First off I’ll say that I loved the two main characters. From their earliest interactions they reminded me of Merlin and Arthur from the BBC TV show who’s friendship I adore. Their love for each other is so pure and strong and gives real life love much too high expectations.

The story telling was great. It didn’t waste a lot of time on small details and long explanations which made the book fly by which is exactly the type of book you want to be reading after finishing the tome that is Anna Karenina.

If you are looking for an epic love story with some masterfully written mythological twists, then you should probably read this book.

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

