A Month Of Reading: February 2017

Hi Guys

February was one of those months where I felt like I was reading a lot more than I actually did, but I did manage to get through 9-ish books.  

I say -ish because I have reread the first three Harry Potter books this month, but some parts I kind of skim read. I don’t need to tell you how much I love them.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo 

Rating: 56/100

This is ‘the’ book at the moment. Every one is reading and loving it, for obvious reasons. This is a book that follows a teenage girl who is transgender. Because of this she had to move towns and we see her have crushes and hang out with friends, but her past is still affecting her.

I did like this book,I especially liked reading the representation as the author is also trans. However, I did find the story and the storytelling to be a little bit simple. I don’t know if my expectations were too high because of the hype but this book just didn’t meet them.

Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo  

Rating: S&S: 65/100  –  R&R: 47/100

I borrowed these two from the library after reading the first in January and I’m really glad I did. It’s not very often I remember to actually finish the series I started so I’m glad I can tick this off my list.

The series definitely picked up in S&S after the introduction of some great new characters, but if you want to know more about what I thought I have a full spoiler free review here of the whole series. 

Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys 

Rating: 69/100

I have wanted to read this for ages I can not believe it took me this long to finally get to it. It was a very hard book to read as it follows a young family who are cruelly taken from the comfort of their home and taken to the harsh labours camps and suffer the cruellest most inhumane conditions. This story was very sad and heart wrenching, but the writing and characters lacked something for me.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Rating: 79/100

This book is the reason I felt like I was reading loads but then just didn’t. This took me three weeks (with a book in-between) to read and boy did it go slowly. Which isn’t a negative thing. This book has beautiful writing with characters full of emotion that carry the story.

Saying that, there were some parts that got incredibly dull and there was so much detail to every little thing. Beautiful as it was I definitely couldn’t read books like this all the time. 

The Outsiders by S.E Hinton 

Rating: 85/100

This is the type of book that stays with you even after you’ve finished it. It follows Ponyboy, a teen who lives with his two brothers and is a grease, a tough gang who lack the financial benefits of their enemy the Socs. This book is revealing of the social issues of being in a gang and how it effects Ponyboys life. 

This book is amazing, and I will be doing a full review of it soon. I just want to reread it first because it’s one of those where you have to read it more than once to really digest it, plus it’s only 130 pages, plus I want to take full advantage of goodreads now allowing rereads.

Overall I’m happy with what I read this month, but I do wish I’d been able to get to more books from my winter TBR I’d planned. 

How was your reading month?

Thanks for reading

Jess X

4 thoughts on “A Month Of Reading: February 2017

  1. You’ve read a good mixture of books in February! I felt the same with If I Was Your Girl: the story was compelling but the writing didn’t do much for me. I will admit to hating Anna Karenina, mainly because of Anna. Never have I been so happy for someone to throw themselves in front of a train!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you had a pretty good reading month. I’m hoping that, as people see the success of Meredith Russo’s book, more trans people will chose to become authors and tell stories related to their lived experiences. I totally understand where you’re coming from with the storytelling aspect. Happy March!

    eli @ the (book) supplier

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

