Review: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Hi Guys

It’s not very often I start and finish a trilogy within two months (my average is probably 2-3 years) but that is exactly what I have done with the Grisha Trilogy so I thought this was the perfect opportunity to do a series review spoiler-free.IMG_3212.JPG

Length: 350-400 pages each

Publisher: Square Fish

Source: Kindle Book and Library

Avg Goodreads Rating:                                                              Shadow & Bone: 4.06   –  Siege & Storm: 4.09   –  Ruin & Rising: 4.18

My Rating:                                                                                                                                                             S&B: 38/100  –  S&S: 65/100  –  R&R: 47/100 (3 Stars Overall)

What it’s about:

This is set in a fantasy world that is divided by The Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee, Alina Stakov, who when entering The Fold reveals a dormant power that saves the life of her oldest friend.

After her powers are revealed she is whisked away to the royal palace where the other Grisha live, to learn how to control her new powers and serve the Darkling, the leader of the Grisha.

Review:

My feelings towards The Grisha trilogy are kind of mixed. 

I really enjoyed myself reading the second and third instalments. I sped through all of the books but I got really invested in the romance and story in the last two. For me, the first book lacked world building. I didn’t really understand The Fold or Ravka, I got confused and that made me loose interest.

I think what made me love the second book a lot more than the first was the introduction to new characters. The characters all got a lot more interesting in Siege and Storm, even the ones from the first book became more developed and more enjoyable to read about. Let me say this now, if you’ve read the first and one and thought it was meh, read the second. It’s worth it.

Each book took me two days to read and the writing definitely helped with that. It is very fast paced and flows nicely. It’s the type of writing that grips you and doesn’t let you go until you finish it. 

The love interests were fun to read about. While the love story does sometimes overwhelm the actual plot I personally didn’t mind. I love a bit of romance in my YA fantasy.

The characters lacked depth to me, I didn’t really get emotionally invested in them even though I enjoyed reading about them. This could’ve been because of the pace of the book and how quickly everything happens. 

Alina was a good main character, I will never get tired of reading about hidden underdogs rising to power and becoming the voice of a revolution. However I can’t help but see her as a poor mans version of Daenarys Targaryan. The other characters made a habit or hyping her up to be more than she was.

The ending, while satisfying, was a little underwhelming. Although that could just be because I’m not used to actually finishing series. 

For me this trilogy is everything I want in a YA fantasy. It has a lot of romance, intriguing villains, action packed scenes, and a kick ass female lead. Definitely worth the read.

Thanks for reading

Jess X

4 thoughts on “Review: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I completely agree with you on the characters. I feel like Bardugo’s other series has much more developed characters and I really enjoyed that. I never really liked Alina, though. I totally agree with you that other characters over-hyped her and that made it hard for me to appreciate her as a character. Solid review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing review! Although I didn’t like the next 2 books in this triology, I loved the first one. And tbh, I hated when Elena ended up with Mal. It was a BIG disappointment. I mean, what is she even tryna do. There were so many better choices.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

