A Month Of Reading: January 2017

Hi Guys

This month was full of extremes. Either I extremely loved the book so much I would go as far as saying it’s a new favourite or I was extremely disappointed by it. However I’m really happy about the amount I read, I’m finally making time to do nothing else but sit down and read and I’m really enjoying that. 

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

(90/100 – 5 Stars)

I started the year by reading a new favourite. I wrote a full review for this which you can find here.

This is a awesome fairy-tale type adventure that all book lovers should read. If you haven’t, please, read this.

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johanson

(64/100 – 3 stars)

This is the second in a fantasy trilogy where our world Crossed into another world and while doing that lost a whole load of technology. So it’s kind of a confused futuristic fantasy book. 

I half liked this, half didn’t. I loved the Kelsea chapters and her interaction with her guard but this book showed moments from before the Crossing and to be honest I didn’t find them interesting and I didn’t enjoy them. 

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johanson

(29/100 – 2 Stars)

I decided to finish the trilogy because I knew if I left it unfinished it would take me ages to get to it. Honestly I was really disappointed in this finale. As I said my favourite part about this trilogy was the interaction between Kelsea and her guard and we basically got none of that in this.

I was also very very disappointed by the ending. It felt like such a cop out and was one of those endings that made me question why I wasted so much time with this series. 

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

(38/100 – 2 Stars)

Honestly I was disappointed with this. For me there was a lack of world building and explanations and some of the characters were really flat, I’ve already forgotten half of them. I do want to finish the series though. I’ve heard the second one gets better so fingers crossed. 

Knife Edge by Malorie Blackman

(34/100 – 2 Stars)

Yeah, another disappointment. Honestly after the ending of the first book I knew it would go two ways, I would love it or hate it. I hated it. The writing for me was really bad, I could not get hooked. The characters were kind of annoying, the story was getting boring. Also this book features singing and music which felt really out of place, honestly, I skipped those parts.

Diverseathon

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

(93/100 – 5 Stars)

I loved loved loved this. I did a full review which you can find here.

This is a book following two generations on two continents, each chapter follows a new character. It tackles themes like slavery, African culture, racism. It’s a very diverse book and I learnt a lot from it.

The Last Act of Love by Cathy Rentzenbrink

(Didn’t Rate)

You might be wondering why I’ve decided not to rate this, I’m going to do a full blog post about it but basically I have just decided I’m not going to rate non-fiction books. 

This is the first non-fiction I have actually been able to start and finish in a while. This is about how Cathy’s life was altered when her brother was involved in an accident that left him brain damaged. 

The reason I loved this was the writing, it was not only beautiful but raw and honest and very very brave. The love Cathy has for her brother made it very emotional and hard to read at times but it was worth the tears because it’s such an important story to read. 

Checkmate by Malorie Blackman

(DNF)

Honestly just read the first book in this series, don’t even bother with the others. I stopped half way through. 

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

(87/100 – 4 Stars)

This was a reread, but honestly I remembered so little from it, it felt like I was reading it again for the first time. I love this book, I love the writing and the characters. It is a great quick read (I read it in less than a day) but I do feel like some things are a little exaggerated. But it’s nice sometimes to read an exaggerated YA book. 


These book I read half way through and will hopefully be finishing in February:

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Let me know what you read this month!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

