Book Adaptation Wishlist

Hi Guys

Last week I told you what upcoming book adaptations I am most excited about, so this week I thought I would let you know what book adaptations I wish were happening. While it always scares me when one of my favourite books is made into a TV show or movie there are certain books that I am dying to see adapted.

I got this idea from the tag that shemightbemonica created but I’m technically not doing the tag because I didn’t want to stick to the categories. So I’ll just talk about the books I want adapted and explain how and into what.

Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan- If this had been done right the movies could have been amazing. The next Harry Potter amazing. But no, they decide to choose actors who are the age the characters are in the last book. I would love this to be remade into a TV show. 

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart- This could be done both ways but honestly I would love BBC or ITV to make this into a mini-series. Like Broachchurch or The Missing. 

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer- This would make a great movie, the mystery subplot and with a MC suffering from a mental illness keeps you hooked and will stay with you for a long time afterwards.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins- I’ll be honest, I can’t see this movie being well met by critics. I feel like it would get a lot of hate for being another cheesy YA adaptation. But as long as it’s faithful to the book I would love it unconditionally. Plus, I’m a sucker for a good movie set in Paris.

Legend by Marie Lu – I know after Allegiant a lot of peoples faith in YA dystopia adaptions have faded, but I can genuinely see this being  a great movie. When I read the books I speed through them so fast it felt like reading a movie. The scenes are fast paced and you come to love the characters really quickly. Great movie material.

A Spool Of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler- This would make a really great TV show. A This Is Us type TV show.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng- Same as We Were Liars I would love to see this made into a mystery TV show. But I would love Netflix to do this one. I could see this being the next Stranger Things (but with no scary monster from The Underneath after them.)

What books do you wish would be adapted for film or TV?

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

 

6 thoughts on “Book Adaptation Wishlist

  1. Percy Jackson deserves a new opportunity ^^ I guess the movies could be considered enjoyable for someone who never read the books, but for us book nerds it’s such a bad adaptation 😦 A tv show would be amazing 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

