Exciting Upcoming Book Adaptations

Hi Guys

I have a difficult relationship with book adaptations. There are so many book adaptations that I love but so many were just a wasted opportunity (*cough*Mortal Instruments*cough*).

I don’t know if all of these are being released in 2017, but they’re all in production so they’ll be coming to us soon. I’m going to split this into two categories. Books I have read and books I haven’t read but definitely want to before watching the adaptation.

Books I’ve Read

Wonder (R.J. Palacio)- I absolutely loved this book when I read it two years ago and you have no idea how excited I am to see this on the big screen.

Cormoran Strike (Robert Galbraith)- I love a good British mystery TV show, and even though I already know the ending I can’t wait to watch this. It’ll be funny watching my parents guess who the killer is while I’m sitting there with all the knowledge.

Northern Lights (Phillip Pullman)- The BBC announced last year that they’re going to be making this into a TV show. I definitely need to reread this before the show starts, although I don’t think they’ve even started filming yet so I have a lot of time to do it.

Let It Snow (John, Maureen and Lauren)- I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book but I love Christmas movies and this is set to be the next Love Actually. (It won’t be. But they can try.)

Books I Haven’t Read

My Cousin Rachel (Daphne Du Maurier)- Sam Claflin is staring in this. That is all.

The Circle (Dave Eggers)- This has Emma Watson in it so I’m already sold. But also the trailer is so intriguing.

The Glass Castle (Jeanette Walls)- I’ve actually been wanting to read this for a while. I’ll definitely have to read it before the movie is released.

WaterShip Down (Richard Adams)- This is being made into a animated TV show by the BBC. I love it when the BBC adapt books so I’m sure this will be great.

The Dark Tower (Stephen King)- I want to get into Stephen King this year and this movie has one of my favourite actors, Idris Elba, in it.

What upcoming adaptation are you most looking forward to?

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

