#DiverseAThon TBR

Hi Guys

The diverseathon is back and I am so happy about it! If you don’t know what this is it is a readathon where for a week you focus on reading diverse books. Here are all the hosts:

Monica – http://www.youtube.com/shemightbemonica                                                    Christina Marie: http://www.youtube.com/krazytina05
Joce – http://www.youtube.com/c/jocesquibble…
Simon – http://www.youtube.com/savidgereads                                                                          Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/diverseathon

With my TBR this time I have made more of an effort to choose own voices book and I think (correct me if I’m wrong) all of these are own voices.

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi:

This sounds like an amazingly diverse book. It tells so many stories spanning 300 years and starts off with two sisters who are separated when they are sold as slaves. I have heard nothing but praise for this so I can’t wait to start it.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenze:

This will be a reread for me but honestly I can not remember a thing that happened in it. So it will be like reading it for the first time again. This is a LGBT+ coming of age book following a Mexican-American main character. I loved it the first time around, so I’m sure I will again.

Knife Edge by Malorie Blackman

This is the second novel in the Noughts and Crosses trilogy. This is set in a dystopia world where white people are the subordinate. The first one left me heartbroken and I can’t believe I haven’t continued with it yet.

Last Act of Love by Cathy Retzenbrink

This is a memoir of Cathy, who’s brother was in an accident when he was a teenager that left him brain-damaged and in a vegetative state. After years of looking after him there came a point when Cathy and her parents realised the best thing for him was to let him go. This seems like such a raw and personal story, and I’m sure this is going to be a hard book to read.

I really hope I’m able to get to all of these. Let me know what you plan on reading.

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

