2017 Reading Goals

Hi Guys!

I have done one of these every year since joining the online reading community. It doesn’t always work and honestly most of the year I forget all about the goals and then I finally remember making them in November and realise I’ve only half done them.

But, it doesn’t feel right going into another year and not setting myself some reading goals. Hopefully this year I’m not setting myself up for failure.

Here are my reading plans for 2017!

Goals

Read 30 Books: This was my goal for last year and even though I actually read 40 more books than this I just don’t want to feel stressed about reading.

Read One Grimm’s Story and One Sherlock Story Every Month: I feel like, because these are such huge bind-ups, since owning them I have repeatedly looked past them when thinking of what to read next, so they never get read. Hopefully this goal will mean I get a big chunk of them done by the end of the year.

img_3187

Read 2 Charles Dickens Novels: I know one of these will be Great Expectations because I’ve owned that for ages and have been meaning to get to it.

Read 5 Books Over 500 Pages: I often put off reading big books because I know they’ll take me more time to get through. Really need to stop doing that.

Read 5 Non-Fiction: I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to do this. I only read three last year and honestly I struggled with that. I really want to try some different non-fictions this year to try and get into them.

Finish 8 Series: I have so many series where I have just one book left to read and then I’m finished. I’m really bad at finishing series.

Get My TBR Down To 30 Books: This is gonna be tough seeing as I have over 100 books in my TBR. But I want to give it a shot.

Read 5 Review Books: I normally get review books from NetGalley but sometimes for books I find particularly interesting I work up the courage to request from the publisher.

Reread a Book I Read In School: I saw this challenge on twitter and I really like the idea of rereading a book I was forced to read and see what I think of it now.

Books I Must Read

Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness: I’ve tried reading the first book multiple times now but I’ve never been able to get through it. If I can’t get through the series this year I’m just going to have to give the books away.

Poison Study: Honestly, same with this series. I’ve owned all of them since 2014 or something. It’s getting ridiculous.

img_3196

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Ness: I’m really excited to finally get to this book. I feel like I keep putting it off but now that I’ve got The Mistborn Trilogy read and out of the way I feel like I now have space in my brain for a new epic fantasy.

The Subtle Knife by Phillip Paulman: This is the second book in the His Dark Materials series and I’ve owned it for years. I might need to reread the first one first though.

Small Island by Andrea Levy: I bought this for my A Level English but I never got around to it (thankfully it wasn’t related to my exam, unfortunately I still failed it.) I do find this book really interesting, plus Benedict Cumberbatch is in the BBC mini-series.

Lost Symbol and Inferno: I bought these years ago for 50p each and I finally started the series last year. I still have to read The Da Vinci Code but hopefully I can get to these this year.

img_3202

Diversity Bingo

2016 became the year me and a lot of other online bookworms realised the importance of reading and promoting diverse books. That’s why I want to take part in Diversity Bingo to challenge myself to read books about and from people who are different to me.

I don’t have anything planned yet so if you have any recommendations that fit one of the goals below then let me know!

C0b-lAmWgAACB8S.jpg

Let me know if you’ve set yourself any reading goals for this year!

Thanks for reading

Jess X

2 thoughts on “2017 Reading Goals

Leave a Reply

