A Month of Reading: December 2016

Hi Guys!

In December I ended up reading a lot of small quick reads as I did most of my reading during the CramAThon and the holiday BookTubeAThon. So I’m going to include wrap ups from those two readathons and let you know what I read in between.

Non-Readathon Reads

img_3159

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte:

Honestly I kind of loved and hated this book. The way it was written confused at the beginning. I couldn’t work out who the characters were and how they were related. I actually had to look up a family tree online to work out who was who, which meant I had to spoil the story to understand it. The audio book got me through this one. I gave it 48% (3 Stars)

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge:

This book was a little bit of a disappointed. I felt it was slow at times and the ending was a little disappointing but I did enjoy the characters.

A Snow Garden by Rachel Joyce:

This is a collection of short stories all set in the festive period. I did love some stories more than others, my favourite was The Marriage Manuel. I also really loved the forward in this so if you ever read this definitely do not skip the author introduction. It sets off the book perfectly.

A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig (audio book read by Stephen Fry):

I read this last year and before I read the sequel I wanted to refresh my memory. So, I finally used my audible credit and got this for free on audible. I really loved Stephen Fry reading this and it has made me realise I seriously need to listen to him read Harry Potter.

CramAThon Wrap Up

IMG_3161.JPG

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens:

I read this for the challenge ‘Read a book with less than 200 pages.’ This is such a classic heartwarming Christmas story. I never let a Christmas go by without reading this.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton:

For the challenge ‘Read a book set in a country other than your own’ and the ‘read a book you’ve been putting off.’ This is set in Amsterdam and is a book I’ve been putting off for over a year now. I’m really glad I read it when I did because its a great cosy winter read.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick: 

I was finally able to get this out of the library (after years of it being ‘missing’) and I absolutely loved it. The fact that half of the book is told through beautiful illustrations makes the story go by so fast and makes it a perfect readathon read.

The Nutcracker by E.T.A Hoffman:

I already new some of this story as when I was younger I was obsessed with the movie Barbie and the Nutcracker and this Christmas I wanted to read the original tale. It was really nice revisiting this story and afterwards I watched a video of the ballet on youtube and I’m glad I read the story because I probably wouldn’t have understood what was going on.

Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan:

I gave this book one star. All I can say is I really don’t see the point of this book.

The Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig:

Matt Haig’s Christmas books are perfect. They’re written for children but totally accessible for adults to enjoy as well. This was such a touching tale about a girl who’s had a hard life but never stops believing in the magic of Christmas. Charles Dickens even makes a special appearance.

BookTubeAThon

IMG_3166.JPG

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle:

I read three short stories from my Sherlock bind-up. The Red Headed League, The Man With the Twisted Lip, The Final Problem and Charles Augustus Milverton. I’m starting to really enjoy these short stories and I definitely need to read more in the upcoming year.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness:

This was a reread for me because the movie trailer is everywhere at the moment and I realised I couldn’t really remember what the heck happened in this book. Honestly it was like reading it for the first time all over again. I’m not the biggest fan of this book, I do feel like it’s a little bit over hyped. Although it is a touching read.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie:

I wanted to reread this again before the Peter Pan Play Goes Wrong was on the TV (which was amazing by the way.)

Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky:

I think I can officially say this is my favourite Young Adult novel. I just love everything about this book and I really enjoyed writing in the book this time and adding my own annotations and thoughts.

The Emperors Soul by Brandon Sanderson:

This is a novella set in a world that Brandon has written a whole novel about that I haven’t read yet. And I feel like maybe I should have. I did really enjoy the story, it was fast paced and the story was interesting but I felt no connection to it. But it was a good quick read.

Weird Things Customers Say In Bookshops by Jen Campbell: 

Jen Campbell is one of my favourite booktubers and I have wanted to read her books for forever. I finally got the book for Christmas and I found some of the tales in this book hilarious.

That’s everything I read in December

Thanks for reading

Jess X

Leave a Reply

