Blogmas: Childhood Reading

Hi Guys

I have been a reader for as long as I can remember and books have always been a part of my life. I have strong memories of going to the library during school holidays and taking part in reading challenges and bringing home piles of books. So today, I am going to share with you those books that shaped the reader I am today.

IMG_3156.JPG

Jacqueline Wilson: I have read and owned basically all of Jaqueline Wilsons books published before 2011. She was a favourite of mine and My Sister Jodie was my first and favourite. I loved that it took place in a boarding school and that the main character was a book lover like myself. Plus, this was probably the first book that ever made me cry. So, thanks for that Jacqueline Wilson, you prepared me for future book reading.

The Diary of a Young Girl: This was a book that was a class read when I was 10 years old. This is a book that I really connected with because I related to Anne (because I also liked to write) and it was hard to read that she never even got the chance to grow up.

Shadow Forest by Matt Haig: Yes, that’s right. The guy who wrote ‘Reasons To Stay Alive’ is a childhood favourite of mine. I read this in my last year of Primary School (I even wrote him a letter) as part of the Smarties Book Awards.

I remember the teacher carried in a big box of books and one by one tables were chosen to go up and pick a book (there were 4 choices.) By the time I got there they were all gone. But when I finally got my hands on it I devoured it and recently purchased it for my own collection. And yes, I am definitely going to reread it soon.

Narnia: This was a class read in m first year of secondary school and I remember falling in love with the Narnia world. The movies are also a big part of my childhood.

Skellig: We started reading this in my first year of secondary school as well, but for some reason we never finished it so I bought it myself and started it all over again but if I’m honest with you, I still don’t know what happens.

Peter Pan: In my primary school we had little bookshelves in each classroom and you had to ask the teacher if you could borrow one and they would keep a log in a little book. I borrowed this when I was 8 and I remember reading this in a pub (no alcohol involved, promise) after a quiz night was cancelled. I still love this story.

Famous Five: I’m not sure when I first got into these, I reckon I was 8 or 9 because that’s when I really got into reading. I loved the adventures this group of friends had and the mysteries they solved. I also remember finding it extremely funny that they drank something called Ginger Beer.

The Secret Garden: Whenever I think this book I always think of my Nan on my Dads side. My Dads family has a serious green finger and I think it was her who first bought me the movie as I was always reading her copy of the book when I was round her house Eventually I bought my own copy of the book and when I read it earlier this year it made me feel so nostalgic.

So, those are the books from my childhood. Did you read a lot in your childhood? If so, what’s your favourite book you remember reading?

Thanks for reading

Jess X

3 thoughts on “Blogmas: Childhood Reading

  1. I really enjoy the Narnia movies, but never got around to read the books :/ I’ve read reviews saying that the books are very different from the movie, and a little bit boring too :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

