Blogmas: Christmas Baking! (Ginger Bicuits Recipe)

Hi guys

For me the smell of Christmas is spices and Ginger is my favourite spice (not Gerri Halliwell.) I put it in everything  (basically, kind of) including cake, hot chocolate. But my personal favourite is ginger biscuits.

My Granddad has always made ginger biscuits that beat any shop bought ones. They are chewy and crunchy and ginormous. When I was 12 he gave me the recipe so I could make them in school and ever since it has been my go to recipe.

It is super simple so I thought I would share it on here just in case any of you were looking for anything to bake seeing as it is the time for baking (and eating.)

Ingredients:

  • 350g of Self-Raising Flour
  • 200g of Caster Sugar (I only had granulated but it tasted the exact same)
  • 125g of Butter
  • 75g Golden Syrup
  • Pinch of Salt
  • Tablespoon of Ground Ginger
  • Teaspoon of Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 1 Egg

Equipment:

  • 3-4 Baking Trays
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Weighing Scales
  • Baking Paper (or you can grease the tins with butter)
  • Sieve
  • Spoon

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 160°

2. Grease 3-4 baking trays with butter or you can use baking paper.

3.  Sieve the flour, sugar, salt, ground ginger and bicarbonate of soda into one bowl.

4.  Melt golden syrup and butter together either in a bowl over a pan of water on the stove or in the microwave (make sure to check every 30 seconds if you do it in the microwave.)

5. Beat an egg and add the golden syrup, butter and egg to the dry ingredients (the flour, sugar etc.) Mix it all together until it forms a ball. It may be crumbly at first but just keep mixing till it all comes together. You may have to use your hands.

 

6. Roll the biscuit dough into balls. I chose to do mine slightly smaller than a golf ball but you can choose what size you want your cookies to be, depending on how many you want.

7. Put them on the baking trays (do not flatten them at all). Make sure to leave enough space in between as they will flatten and spread as they bake. This recipe normally makes about 25-30 biscuits so you might have to bake them in two batches.

8. Put them in the oven to bake for about 15 minutes.

8. ENJOY!

img_1093

Let me know what your favourite thing to bake this time of year is!

Thanks for reading

Jess x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

