Blogmas: Winter/Festive Reading Recommendations

Hi Guys

Today I thought I would share with you the types of books I like to read around the festive season. These aren’t just going to be books set around Christmas because I already did a blog post on them last year (although I will be re-mentioning my absolute favourite must-reads.) These are basically books to get you into the wintry-festive mood.

I did one of these in last years failed blogmas attempt and I won’t be repeating any of them so if you want even more festive reading recs you can click here to read that.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott: Unfortunately I read this earlier this year during the Summer because I had no idea that the majority of this book is set in Winter. Perhaps next year I’ll give it a reread because it is a lovely book. This starts off with a heart warming Christmas scene and then follows the lives of a family of four sisters and their mum as they grow up. It’s a story about love and kindness, what more could you want for Christmas?

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte: Not exactly Christmas related but it definitely has a chilly feel to it. While reading this I felt so cosy and invested I can definitely imagine reading this with a hot chocolate and blanket.

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey: Out of all of these, this is the one you have to read. This is such a beautiful, magical and heart-warming story about a middle aged couple who move to live a life of solitude in Alaska. They are slowly drifting apart until one night they decide to make a child out of snow which changes their life forever.

A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig:  I did recommend this last year but I hadn’t actually read it at that point so I thought I would re-recommend. This is basically the ultimate Christmas read (apart from the Christmas Carol of course.) I read this last year and although it’s a children’s book it was such a fun read (and if there’s ever a time to read children’s books, it’s Christmas time.)

IMG_3124.JPG

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien: If you’re like me and you like reading fantasy books when the weathers cold and miserable then you have to try lord of the rings. The world Tolkien created is something to be amazed by. I’ve only read the first two so far but I plan on finishing the series this month.

The Lion, the Witch in the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis: This is the only one in the series I’ve actually read but this is perfect for this time of year. I’m sure you know the story but if not this follows the Pevensie Children who are evacuated from London in WWII and are sent to a huge mansion in the country side. In this mansion they find a wardrobe that sends them to Narnia, a land that has been cursed by the evil White Witch to live a hundred years of winter (with no Christmas!) I love this story.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgsen Burnett: I’m sure you’ve heard of this story but if you haven’t it’s about a girl who is forced to move to England and live with her uncle after her parents die. Her uncle lives in a huge mansion on misty mores of Yorkshire and this mansion holds a lot of secrets, one of which is the Secret Garden.

Stardust by Neil Gaiman: I love reading fairy tales this time of year and this is a fairy tale for adults. This is a perfect ‘read in one sitting’ type book. I read this in one evening and I thoroughly enjoyed every second of it.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling: I can’t do a Christmas reads without mentioning Harry Potter. Basically every book has a great Christmas scene in it and with HarryXMasToYou going on there’s never been a better time to read Harry Potter.

Thanks for reading

Jess X

 

 

Leave a Reply

