Blogmas: Winter TBR

Hi Guys

So, first things first, this TBR is way too ambitious. I realise this and I know there’s no way I’m going to actually be able to read all of these books. But while planning my TBR for winter I just looked at my shelves and thought ‘I want to read everything’ so that’s basically what I’m trying to do.

In winter my reading tastes change dramatically after Christmas so I’m going to do this in two sections. Books I plan to read in December (aka Christmas) and then books I plan to read during the rest of winter.

Christmas:IMG_2975.JPG

Twelve Days of Dash and Lily: This is the sequel to Dash and Lily’s book of dares which is a great Christmas read but I’ve always hated the ending of it. I don’t know if I’ll reread that one first (it really depends when I get Twelve Days from the library) but I’m really looking forward to reading more about Dash and Lily.

Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig: I read the first in the series ‘A Boy Called Christmas’ last year and loved it. It was the perfect Christmas book that embodies everything magical about this time of year. Can’t wait to read this one.

The Snow Garden by Rachel Joyce: This is a selection of short stories set around the festive time so it certainly sounds perfect for this time of year.

Book of Lost Things by John Connolly: I’ve tried reading this before but I didn’t finish it and I’m not really sure why so I’m going to give it another try.

The Invention of Hugo Cabaret: This is a huge maybe because it doesn’t look like anybody wants to give their copies back to the library so I might not be able to get my hands on a copy any time soon.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton: This is another magical book that I think it set in the winter months so I can’t wait to read this while it’s cold outside.

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streitfield: I love reading children’s books this time of year. Lets be honest Christmas brings out the inner child in all of us. I loved the movie adaption of this with Emma Watson but I’ve never read the whole book. 

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge: There’s something about magical fantasies following children going on an adventure that screams Christmas. This book has gotten a lot of praise and I can’t wait to read it. 

Emma by Jane Austen: Wuthering Heights by Emile Bronte: I’ve actually changed my mind on reading Emma but I really couldn’t be asked to retake the photo (I know I’m lazy.) So instead of Emma I’m going to read Wuthering Heights because it just seems a more wintry read.

Return of the King by J.R.R Tolkien: I read the first two earlier this year and just never got around to this one but again it’s a ‘maybe, if I have time’ one. I do have the audio book so I may listen to the audiobook instead.

Winter TBR:IMG_2984.JPG

Winter In Madrid by C.J. Sansom: I was actually recommended this author by my teacher and I still haven’t got around to reading it, and seeing as it’s obviously set in winter I thought it would be a good time to read it.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: I can’t wait to read a Donna Tartt book and I love reading long mysterious books in the winter months.

Bronze Horseman by Paulinna Simmons: I’ve had this on my shelf for two years and each time winter comes around I say ‘I’m going to read it this winter’ but then I never get around to it. This will be the year I finally do (hopefully, maybe, fingers crossed.)

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy: I can’t wait to read this.Unfortunately I’ve been spoiled for the ending but I remember Rory Gilmore saying this is her favourite book and I trust her. 

Cats Eye by Margaret Atwood: I wasn’t going to read this but then I watched Maxwell’s from Welldonebooks’s winter recommendations video and this was on it so I may get to it. If I have time.

So that is my overly ambitious TBR. Stay tuned to see if I actually get to any of these books (it would be a Christmas miracle if I do!)
Thanks for reading

Jess x

Leave a Reply

