Blogmas: A Month of Reading: November

Hi Guys

Welcome to the first day of blogmas! I’m going to start off the month how I normally do and tell you about the books I read in past month.

This was a great month of reading. I finally got to a series I’ve been wanting to read for ages and I read a few other really great books. Nothing I read this month was terrible which is always a plus.

IMG_3090.JPG

Final Empire Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson: Yes, that’s right. I started and actually finished a series. In the same month! Who am I? I have been struggling with the first book in this series for months now. I think I may have even started reading it a year ago and have tried multiple times to finish it since, I just haven’t been able to get into the stories.

I think the whole magic system was part of the reason because I just couldn’t get my head around how they would burn metals to give them these abilities but eventually I got past that and the minute Elend was introduced I was hooked. Elend and Vin are my faves.

As a series as a whole I would give it 80% because I love the characters and story so much but there are times I feel like it’s getting a little repetitive.

Matilda by Roald Dahl: I remember love the movie to this when I was younger but I never really read Roald Dahl when I was a child so this was actually my first time reading it and I have to say I love what the movie added, they took this book and made something really special with it. But I really liked the ending to the book. I gave it 85%.

Autumn by Ali Smith: This was my first Ali Smith but will most certainly not be my last. I loved the writing in this book, it was poetic and flowed perfectly and the way she described things painted pictures into my mind. It’s not very often I read a book that can do that. This is a book that didn’t just hand you the meaning on a silver platter.

It made me think about what Ali was trying to do and say and I have a feeling when I reread this sometime in the future I am going to notice stuff I completely missed before.

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr:  This is a book I have been looking forward to reading for ages and honestly I was a little disappointed. The amount of POV’s kind of confused me and sometimes it took me a while to get used to a new point of view and when the chapters are so short you don’t want to be wasting time with that. The story did also feel very slow at times but I must say I absolutely loved how the story came together. It was like pieces to a puzzle were finally fitting.

Thanks for reading

Jess x

Leave a Reply

