Little Things To Love About Autumn

Hello Guys

If you follow social media at all you’ll have become aware that Autumn is a very well loved season by basically everyone, including me. So, in case you don’t share the same enthusiasm and are mourning the end of Summer,  I’m going to share with you the reasons why you should also feel this love for Autumn.

The Fashion

gyglimg_0663img_0745

Yes, it does get a little chilly in the Autumn. And after a summer of bikinis and sun-bathing this can come as a little bit of a shock, it’s understandable to therefore hold a grudge over Autumn.

But I see this as the perfect opportunity to break out my favourite fashion items, ankle boots, woolly jumpers, chequered scarves and my faithful leather jacket. So chic. ;P

The Leaves Turning

IMG_0685.JPG

Autumn has taken a long time to get going this year in the UK, but the leaves have slowly started turning into beautiful shades of reds, yellows, oranges and even purples. 

Spooky Reads

img_0783

What kind of book blogger would I be if I didn’t mention books at least once? While I do love reading in the hot sun there is something so special about reading in the autumn wearing one of those snuggely jumpers.

The best books to read in Autumn are spooky, unsettling and paranormal books (especially with Halloween on the horizon) so these are a few recommendations for you. 

Jane Eyre: An unlikely recommendation but this book is full of eerie locations, spooky mysteries and… a ghost?

And Then There Were None: This had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Frightening situation and the best ‘who did it’ I’ve ever read. 

The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer: Girl wakes up from an accident she has no memory of to learn all her friends are dead. Now that’s spooky. 

Before I Go To Sleep: Psychological thriller with crazy twists and a unreliable narrative sounds perfect for Halloween, am I right?

Half Bad: If you like witches, here they are but with a twist. Think Wicked, now imagine what would happen if Elphaba and Glinda had a child. That is this book. 

Chamber of Secrets: Harry Potter is a perfect read for Halloween (any excuse lets be honest) and this one happens to have a death day party on Halloween. A room full of ghosts is my boggart. 

Halloween Movies

I have never been the biggest fan of scary movies. In fact the only one I’ve watched is Women In Black (because Danial Radcliffe) and I screamed out loud watching it and still jump when there’s a noise in the night.

So, I’ll stick to my old childhood favourites I think.

Hot Chocolate

Image result for hot chocolate marshmallows cream

Side Note: Not my picture^^^^^

I like my hot chocolate with whipped cream and mini marsh mellows and I normally use Galaxy Ripple chocolate powder because I’m all about the simple life. This and a book. Heaven!

Candles img_0712

A jumper, spooky book and mug of hot chocolate sounds good but is incomplete. Add a pumpkin spiced candle and abracadabra, instant coziness. You will be winning at Autumn.

So those are the things I love about Autumn. What do you love most about this season? 

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

