A Month of Reading: September

Hello guys

I can not believe it is October already. I’m getting some serious Halloween (and even Christmas) feels right now.

But before we start thinking about that, let’s get into what I read in September. September was a pretty good month of reading, although I wish I’d done more of it. I ended up reading 7 books (and starting another one) and none of them were huge disappointments, result.

IMG_2923.JPG

Heart of Betrayal and Beauty of Darkness by Mary E Pearson: I actually listened to the audiobook of Beauty of Darkness so it’s not in the picture, but I finally finished this trilogy. I have to say I wasn’t overly impressed by it in the end. I just found that the story was driven more by a love triangle I didn’t care for more than the threat Lia and her kingdom was facing. It could also be partly to do with the fact that I just don’t feel like reading fantasy atm but I just lost interest in this.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett: I loved this story so much. It follows three women in a time when segregation and inequality of black and white people was still prominent. Two of the women are maids who are constantly facing prejudice and violence, and the third is a wannabe writer who decides she wants to write the stories of black women in service. This is one of those books that had me fist-bumping thin air for the small victories the main characters won and I just love how much I came to care for them. If you haven’t already, please read this.

12 Years a Slave by Soloman Northup: It was really difficult to read this because it is a man recounting his time of being forced into slavery in a country he had grown a life and a family in. It’s so hard to read him being taken from his family but I’m glad that I did read it as even though it’s hard, it’s important this history isn’t forgotten.

Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman: This is basically a dystopia novel that switches up history. It has the usual elements of a YA dystopia trilogy; corrupt government, rebel group trying to take it down, romance, etc. But in this the social inequalities are based on the colour of peoples skin, blacks are the crosses who live in wealth and privilege and the whites are noughts who are born to and die with nothing. Through a lot of this book I thought it relied a bit too heavily on the forbidden romance between a nought and a cross (although I did of course enjoy that aspect of it) but after finishing it I am really excited to continue the series.

Before I Go To Sleep by S. J. Watson: That’s right guys. I’ve read it. I have finally read it. And it was good. Not ‘amazing,’ ‘oh my god the best thing ever,’ but it certainly wasn’t disappointing. This follows a women who, due to a terrible ‘accident’ has trouble retaining memory and therefore wakes up everyday confused and wondering where she is. She keeps a journal which her doctor reminds her about everyday and the first thing she reads in it is to not trust her husband. This of course immediately gripped me and it was a whirlwind of crazy shocks and surprises, exactly what I was expecting. But it did get a little dull for me around the middle which is why I can’t say this is the best book I ever read, but I do recommend you read it. Especially if you’re a fan of Gone Girl.

A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: I did struggle with this book even though it’s only 80 pages but this is the only Sherlock story that I actually knew/remembered the conclusion of so I feel like that put it at a disadvantage before I even started it. Hopefully I’ll be able to read more Sherlock books this month and hopefully I enjoy them more.

Angels and Demons by Dan Brown: I have only just started this but that is the most progress I have made with this book since I got it 3 years ago so I think I’m actually going to get this off my tbr very soon. HALLELUJAH!

So that’s what I read in September. I am in such a ‘I need to read ALL the books’ mood right now and I am using that to drive me to read rather than… I don’t know, watch tv/youtube. So hopefully I’m going to get a lot of books read in October.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

