Long Overdue Book Haul

Hello Guys!

Todays blog post is going to be a combined June/July/August/September because it has been ages since I’ve done one of these and I have accumulated a lot of new books since then, seeing as it has also been my birthday since I last did one.

June/July

img_2891

Miss Peregrine Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: I feel like everybody and their mother has read this and the movie was just released so I want to read this really soon. Hopefully it will be a perfect read leading up to Halloween.

A Spool Of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler: I’ve actually already read this one, *pats self on back.* This follows a family through three generations and while I found the end a little disappointing I did love how Anne Tyler captured real life. It was a nice summer read.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: I actually have two blog posts on this already, a non spoiler review and spoiler discussion. But basically after reading this I found I could’ve lived without it. In fact, I kinda wish this was even a thing.

August

img_2895

Hamilton The Revolution by Lin Manuel Mirander: August was my birthday month and for my birthday I got this beautiful thing. I love hamilton and I love reading about the songs and what inspired Hamilton, but I will admit I found some parts a little boring.

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: For my birthday I got a whsmith gift voucher from my grandparents so I finally got my hands on the barnes and noble leatherbound bind-up of all of the sherlock holmes novels and stories. I have wanted to read the sherlock stories for ages and now I finally can.

Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: This is actually my second copy of this book but I love it so much that I when I saw it in a charity shop for £1 I decided to get it so I could write and draw in it. So far I’ve really enjoyed doing this and it’s making me want to write in books more #theshame.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson: This is another book I got with a voucher from my birthday. I will admit I was really disappointed by this book.

Half Of A Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie: I’ve only read her speech ‘We Should All Be Feminists’ so I’m excited to get to her fictional stories because I’ve heard great things about her storytelling.

September

img_2910

11:22:63 by Stephen King: I have never read a Stephen King book before and this one sounds really interesting (and not so scary.)

Empire Of Storms by Sarah J Maas: This is another one I got with a giftcard but to be honest now that I have it I can’t see myself reading this in the near future (or ever.) I’m just not interested in this series anymore.

The Little Friend by Donna Tartt: Really creepy cover so possibly a halloween read?

Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf: I’ve wanted to read something by her for ages so when I saw this in a charity shop I snatched it up. It’s really short so hopefully I’ll get to it soon.

One Hundred Years Of Solitude by Gabriel Marquez: A classic I’ve heard so many good things about. I don’t know when I’ll get to this but I’m glad I have it.

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell: This book sounds like something you’d see in downton abbey (which I love.)

So those are the books I got in the last 4 months.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

