Diverseathon Wrap Up

Hey Guys

In my last blog post I told you what I planned on reading in the DiverseAThon. In this one I’m going to tell you just how much I failed at it.

I was only able to read one book and half read four others… I’ll explain.

IMG_2887.JPG

First I decided to start with Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden but I just couldn’t get into the story. Honestly I just personally don’t find the geisha life interesting enough to read a whole book on it.

This is why I struggled with the next book I picked up Geisha of Gion by Mineko Iwasaki which is a biography of the geisha who helped Arthur Golden with research on Memoirs of a Geisha. Not only that but I really didn’t like the author and how she treated people so I stopped reading it about 40 pages in.

Next I decided to finally finish The Help by Kathryn Stockett which I had half read before the readathon began. I really loved this book but unfortunately I’d already watched the movie years ago so I knew most of the plot anyway.

The I read half of 12 years a slave by Soloman Northup which was made into a movie a few years ago (which I haven’t watched). I was finding it really interesting but honestly it was started to feel like I was reading it for school so I took a break from it and hopefully I’ll finish it soon.

Lastly I decided to pick up Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman and it was probably the best thing I could have done. I really loved this book and it was so different from what I expected. I really recommend you read this.

So that is what I read during the diverseathon. It was so great to celebrate diversity for one week and I’m definitely going to make some smarter choices in the books I buy and read in the future.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

