A Month of Reading: July

Hello Guys

July was an amazing month of reading for me for two reasons. 1. The booktubeathon happened which prompted me to speed through 11 books in 7 days. 2. I reread Harry Potter and it was wonderful.

IMG_2767.jpg

The Unexpected Everything ~ Morgan Matson in my eyes is the queen of YA summer contemporary and The Unexpected Everything is her newest release. This was a really fun book and I loved the friendship between the four girls but I didn’t enjoy it as much as her past books. The ending was slightly anti-climatic and I did find a couple of the plot points a little predictable.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix ~ I decided to reread the rest of the series this month before Cursed Child came out, starting with this one. For years I have called this my favourite of the series and while that stands true for the movie I actually found a little of this book to be long-winded. Also, is it me or did they change Sirius’s entire personality in the movies? And who prefers movie Sirius to book Sirius?

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince ~ This book is 1000x better than the movie. I definitely think the HBP movie is my least favourite. Like they completely ruined Ginny in it because in the book she is an awesome character and I love her relationship with Harry.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows ~ I love how this concludes. It has so much detail and explanations that makes for such a satisfying ending. I loved Harry in this because you really come to see that while he may not have exceptional powers his strength lies in his character and determination to do what’s right. The minute I finished it I wanted to reread the entire series again.

Career of Evil ~ The third instalment in the Cormoran Strike series by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling.) I love these novels. The writing is amazing and I love that I am never able to guess the outcome. This is probably my least favourite so far, mainly because I found the ending to be a little disappointing. I came up with multiple theories and I swear I prefer mine to the actual outcome.

The rest of the books I read this month I read during the booktubeathon which I’ve done a full blog post on so if you want to know what I read during that you can click here. 

So that is what I read in July. It was a good month, mainly because of the amount of J.K. Rowling I read.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

2 thoughts on “A Month of Reading: July

Leave a Reply

