Book Haul: SO MANY CLASSICS! (And then some.)

Hello Guys,

Over the past few months I have bought a fare amount of books. Most of them are from charity shops (as always) but I also have a couple of new releases that I couldn’t resist. I’m so excited to read all of these but if you see a particular one you think I should read straight away let me know!

The Classics

IMG_2573

Villette by Charlotte Bronte ~ I recently read  Jane Eyre by the same author and it is one of the best classic novels I have ever read and now I really want to read more of the Bronte sisters works. Villette has been called Charlottes most accomplished works and apparently a lot of it was inspired by her own life.

Watership Down by Richard Adams ~ This is such a famous novel yet I only first heard about it from beauty vlogger Tanya Burr. I’m honestly not sure what it’s about but I have seen nothing negative about it and I’m pretty sure the main character is a rabbit so… I’m sold. 

Wuthering Heights Emily Bronte ~ Like I said earlier I really want to read more of the bronte sisters works and this is definitely one of the more famous ones. I have no idea when I’ll get to this but I saw this beautiful Penguin Library edition for 50p and honestly who could resist that?

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott ~ This is one of those rare occasions in a book haul where I can say I’ve already read this one. I got this a couple of weeks ago in a charity shop and I couldn’t stop looking at it on my shelf so I just had to read it straight away. This is one of those classic books I have heard about my entire life and I’m so happy I finally got around to reading it. I’ll let you know what I thought in my Month of Reading post. 

Les Miserables V1 & V2 by Victor Hugo ~ I have recently become obsessed with the famous broadway musical, not just the songs but the story and I’ve been really curious about what the original story is like. I’m expecting it to be very different but I’m excited to read a book set in the French revolution.

Forgotten Voices of the Great War by Max Arthur ~ This is actually a non-fiction book but I wanted to make the stacks of books equal in size (hehe.) This is a collection of diary entries and memoirs of men in the trenches during the first world war. Not the happiest topic to read about but a very important one that I have always been curious about. 

The ‘And Then Some’

IMG_2579

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson ~ I love Morgan Matson books. In my eyes, she is the queen of summer contemporary and if you haven’t read any of her books you need to go do that right now. This is her latest release and I’m so excited to read it soon. Hopefully it’s going to be sunny this weekend (cause Matson + sun = happiness.)

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas ~ This is the other new release I bought and honestly I was kind of hesitant to buy this. I did like the first one and it’s connections to Beauty and the Beast but I’m really iffy about so many people shipping Feyre with Rhysand. I didn’t like some of the things he did to her in the first and I don’t like that everyone is actually supporting a relationship between them despite it. But there are people who are saying this is their favourite Maas novel yet so that made me more curious (plus it was 3 for £10 on amazon.)

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer ~ I have heard a lot of great things about this book, especially from booktuber Raeleen (PadfootandProngs07.) 

Cateye by Margaret Atwood ~ I have read her famous novel Handmaids Tale and it was such an interesting read that I really want to read more of her works.This sounded right up my alley as it sounded mysterious and drama filled. 

Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson ~ Even though I still haven’t finished The Final Empire I saw this for really cheap online for practically brand new and thought ‘why not?’ This is the last in the Mistborn trilogy which basically everyone loves and I can’t wait to get around to reading it. 

So those are all the books I have bought in the last few months. Let me know if you’ve read any of these and what you thought. 

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

