Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

Hello Guys!

Links: Goodreads     Lainey (creator)      Samantha (New Host)

I absolutely love this weeks topic! There is nothing I love more than the weather being dreary and cold outside but I’m wrapped up warm indoors with a blanket, hot drink, and a good book. On those types of days I normally like a book with a dreary and mysterious setting but with an uplifting story that will make me feel the feelz.

IMG_2459

5. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – I could definitely see myself tucking into this all day while it’s raining outside. 

4. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgsen Burnett – Even though the majority of this is actually set in summer and it’s about bringing life back to an abandoned garden, I just get so nostalgic which therefore makes me feel warm and safe. However there is definitely a chilling feeling when reading this as the book is set on a moor and a couple of mysteries are thrown into the mix. 

3. Silkworm by Robert Galbraith – This is also set in the cold months in London and the mystery gives it an even more chilling feel.

2. Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey– This book is set in Alaska during the coldest months of the year, so if you’re lucky enough for the rain to turn into snow, this is the book you should be reading. It’s such a beautiful story. 

1! Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – Literally perfect for rainy days. In fact a dull sky and  the sound of rain hitting the window will add to the atmosphere of this book. It’s set mostly in the winter months in a very remote mansion with a chilling mystery. 

So those are my top 5 books I would read on a rainy day. 

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

  1. I definitely want to read Jane Eyre so badly. I loved the movie but really think I need to dive into the pages of the story. Dreary is definitely want I feel when it’s raining out so there’s no surprise when I’m picking up a dreary set novel! Thanks for sharing!

    Danica @ A Redheaded Bookworm
    TOP 5

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

