March Book Haul

Hello Guys

I have bought 6 books since my last book haul and have also borrowed two from the library so I thought I should share them with you. 

IMG_2367.JPG

Library Books

Selected Works of Virginia Woolf: I don’t plan on reading this entire book, basically I really wanted to read A Room of Ones Own and this was the only edition available in my library. I’m going to be reading this along with the Feminist Orchestra Book Club on goodreads which is hosted by Jean from Bookish Thoughts.  I believe this is a essay centred around women in literature.

City of Thieves by David Benioff:  I have heard some pretty amazing things about this book, it is a humorous historical fiction novel set in a really dark period of world war 2 where Leningrad (now known as St Petersburg) was surrounded by German troops and the Leningrad people starved to death. This story centres around two men from this town who are given the mission to find 12 eggs.. in winter.. during a mass starvation. Sounds like things are going to get interesting. 

Bought

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr: You don’t know how excited I was when I saw this in a charity shop for £2. I have been wanting this book for the longest time but I’ve just never gotten round to buying it. This has always caught my eye when in WHSmith and it sounds so intriguing. This is another historical fiction set in WW2 and follows two people, one from France and one from Germany. 

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare: Hasn’t basically everyone bought this book by now? I read this the minute I got my hands on it and while it definitely has it’s flaws (especially that ending) it was a really enjoyable read. I’ll tell you more of what I thought in my wrap up. 

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste NgI saw this in the works, which is a discounted book store in the UK, for £2 and I remember seeing this book everywhere when it first came out and everyone who’s opinion I trust said that they were impressed by this book so I thought I would give it a go. 

Lolita by Vladimir Nobokov: Okay I would admit to being a little hesitant to read this. It’s told from the point of view of a man who is sexually attracted to a 12 year old and even though I’m aware that literature shouldn’t be censored because it does make me feel a little uncomfortable. It’s intimidating to read a book based on such a taboo subject but that’s also why I’m interested in it. 

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol: I have wanted a really pretty bind up of the alice in wonderland stories and I finally found this Alma Classics edition which I think is perfect. It has both Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass plus some extra extracts of Lewis Carrols original manuscript.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy: This is a classic that sounds right up my alley. Doomed love? Roller coaster of emotions? Sounds good to me. 

So those are the books I have bought. I’m hoping to get to a lot of these really soon so let me know what you think of them!

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

