Books I Started But Have Not Finished

There are two reasons why I sometimes struggle finishing the books I start, the first it that I have this problem when I finish a book and will then struggle for days to decide  what to read next. This has caused me to pick up a book, read a few chapters of it and then put it back down in favour of another because it didn’t feel like the right time to read it or I felt like reading something else.

The second is that I am not the type of reader who will push through a book I am not enjoying in hope that it will get better. I just think life’s too short to read mediocre books, also, I have too many other amazing books that I want to read. 

These books are split into two sections. The first half are because of the first reason and I therefore do actually want to read them at some point, it just wasn’t the right time to when I first picked it up. The second half are because of the second reason and therefore are books I am very hesitant/have no intention of finishing.  

Books I Will Finish

IMG_2324

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte ~ I plan to finish this very very soon. 

Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher ~ I borrowed this from the library originally but ended up liking it so much I bought it (second hand) and paused reading it. Almost 2 years later and I still haven’t continued.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline ~ I’ve borrowed this from the library and started it but actually didn’t find myself enjoying it. This might be because I don’t really like video games so I’m going to wait until the movie comes out and maybe read it then.

Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan ~ I have no idea why I stopped. I’ll fix this soon though. 

Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern ~ I found this really boring but I do want to finish it.

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken ~ I stopped reading this because I wasn’t enjoying it but I am still interested in finding out what happens. 

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith ~ I think I just really wanted to read something else so I put it down and then never went back to it. But hopefully soon! 

Books I’m Hesitant On FinishingIMG_2326

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green ~ I started this and just could not get into it. The characters just seemed too similar to all of Greens other characters. 

The Book Of Lost Things by John Connolly ~ I was so disappointed by this honestly. 

The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan ~ I’m really not sure how I feel about his writing. 

The Graveyard book by Neil Gaiman ~ It turns out, I really don’t like ghosts, even in childrens books. 

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey ~ This was really boring. 

It’s not Summer Without You by Jenny Han ~ I did not enjoy the first book, and this one was worse. 

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell ~ I have a love/hate relationship with this author. Everyone loves her books and while I enjoyed half of fangirl (I didn’t like the fanfiction parts) and sort of liked Eleanor and Park, I could not get through this one. 

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

 

Leave a Reply

