A Month of Reading: February (2016)

Hello Guys!

I can not believe February has already been and gone, this year is just flying by. This month was a pretty meagre month, I read more than January but I didn’t really love anything. 

IMG_2283.JPG

1984 ~ George Orwell

I started this in January so I finished this quite early in the month. I have done a review of this but overall I gave if 4 out of 5 stars. This classic dystopia scared the bejeebers out of me, and I loved every second of it. 

Wolf By Wolf ~ Ryan Graudin

I have also done a review on this as I got it a free ebook from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Lets just say my review was very honest and I was very disappointed with this book. I gave it 2 stars.

The Fellowship of the Ring and Two Towers ~ J.R.R Taulkin

Ugh, these books. I blame them for not reading more this month. I was set on the idea of reading these before watching the movies but that ended up making me not enjoy the books because all I wanted to do was read the books as quickly as possible so I could watch the film. I never bothered trying to read the Return of the King and went straight to movie, but I might give it a try some other time. I gave Fellowship 55% (3 stars) and Two Towers 49%.

Room ~ Emma Donoghue

This book was my favourite read of the month by far. I’ve been putting off reading this for ages because it is told in the point of view of a five year old boy who was born in a room his mother is kept captive in and he has never left.  To me this just sounded so depressing and emotional, especially with a child being involved, I just didn’t think I could handle it. But I was looking at it from the wrong angle.

While it was emotional it was a story full of hope and love, and it really touched my heart. Not the mention Jacob Tremblay, who plays the little boy in the movie, is the cutest thing EVER! I loved this story so much and I gave it 88% (4 stars.) Oh, and if you’re hesitant to watch the movie, don’t be!

The Raven Boys ~ Maggie Stiefvater

I got this one from the library because I have heard so many people say such amazing things about this book series but it’s never really interested me much. So I thought rather then potentially wasting money on it, I should just borrow it from the library and I’m really glad I did. While I definitely enjoyed the characters and their witty banter I’m afraid the whole magician fortune telling thing just isn’t my thing. I’m not sure if I’ll finish this series. I gave it 41% (three stars.)

Those are all of the books I read in February… hopefully March will be a better month!

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

 

Leave a Reply

