The Coffee Book Tag

Hi Guys!

I have absolutely no idea what I’ll be reading over the weekend and to be honest all I want to do with my time right now is watch the walking dead (I’m only on season 2 so no spoilers!) So, rather than do a weekend reads I am going to do a tag. I was tagged to do this by Louise so thank you for tagging me Louise! You can check out her blog post here.

I, like Louise, hate coffee. I am definitely a classic English tea kinda gal. However I do like these questions so I will put my hate for coffee to one side for the sake of this tag (but just know, I am sipping tea whilst answering these questions #rebel.)

IMG_2256.JPG

 

Black: A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

For this I am going to go with Lord of the Rings. This is basically my reading life at the moment. I’ve been trying so hard for the past two weeks to get into the lord of the rings books, but if I’m honest with you, all I want to do is watch the movies. 

Peppermint mocha: A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Harry Potter. I swear everybody starts reading Harry Potter around Christmas time, and for good reason. In basically every Harry Potter book there is a great festive chapter and whenever I read HP my heart warms and a smile appears on my face. Exactly what you want for that time of year. (Great now I can’t wait for Christmas again.)

Hot Chocolate: Favourite childrens book.

This by far is my favourite question (and not just because I LOVE hot chocolate.) Childrens books have a special place in my heart, especially ones I read in my childhood. (Note. I am not including HP in this seeing as I’ve already used it.) For this I am going with the Secret Garden by Frances Hodgsen Burnett. I always used to think Peter Pan was my favourite childhood book but actually when rereading the Secret Garden I found I had so many more good memories attached to it. Especially memories of watching the film whilst growing up over and over again.

Double shot of espresso: A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Room by Emma Donoghue. I just finished reading this after finally deciding to give up on LOTR’s and it was so tense and emotional at times I just couldn’t stop reading. 

Starbucks: A book you see everywhere

This changes all the time because whenever an extra exciting new book comes out it’s like everybody has to have it and review it and do all sorts of videos on it immediately. A few months ago it was Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, before that it was Winter, before that it was the Wraith and the Dawn. Right now it’s Me Before You. I swear nobody knew of this book three months ago and now suddenly everybody has read it and been heartbroken by it. Needless to say, I need this book in my life right now and hopefully I will get it tomorrow!

That hipster coffee shop: A book by an indie author (a shoutout)

I’ve never actually purposely read a book by an indie author, in all honesty I don’t really pay much attention to who wrote the book. But as far as I can tell from a listopia on goodreads most indie authors like to put hot shirtless men on their covers so maybe I should start trying them out ;P But I have read one Colleen Hover book called Confess and I loved it! 

Oops! I accidentally got decaf: A book you were expecting more from.

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl. I really hated this book, probably because of the humour. And after everybody raved about it I was expecting a lot and came out with nothing. The only reason I still have it is because it cost me £8 and the covers cool.

The perfect blend: A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

No book series is more bitter sweat than the Infernal Devices, especially Clockwork Princess.

Green tea: A book or series that is quietly beautiful

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. The writing and story was so beautiful and touching.

Chai tea: A book or series that makes you dream of far off places.

Honestly most fantasy worlds have some pretty scary shit going on that actually makes me happy to be where I am right now. However, while I didn’t enjoy reading the Lord of the Rings the way Tolkien described the Shire made it seem so comfortable and welcoming. I wouldn’t mind being a hobbit and living under the hill.

Earl grey: A favourite classic

1984 by George Orwell. I feel like that was the most enjoyable classic I have read so far.


 

So those are all the questions! Now for who I am tagging…

Stephanie from So Many Books

Franciska from Life Is Sweet In Books

Ashley from What’s She Reading?

Annalisse from Hopeful Reads

Sorry if any of you have already done this tag!

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

Leave a Reply

