A Month Of Reading: January 2016

Hello Everybody!

This month has been a tough one mental health wise for me, meaning I haven’t really been thinking about reading much. So in the end I only read 5 books… sort of…not really. 

IMG_2202

A Game Of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Okay, confession time. I did kind of skim read a lot of this. I just couldn’t get into it and I was surprised to find that it’s actually really similar to the TV show which I’ve already watched. *Bows head in shame.* This book has a lot of points of view and some of them I found quite dull, especially Catelyn Stark’s. I did really enjoy Jon Snow, Tyrion, Arya and Daenery’s chapters but the rest I just rushed through. Overall I gave this book 81% (4 stars) although this is more based on the chapters that I did read and really did enjoy. I would have enjoyed this more if I hadn’t already watched half of the show. 


 

The Art Of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

I’ve done a full review of this which I’ll link here. So I won’t go into too much detail. But lets just say it will definitely be in my top 10 of this year. I gave it 94% (5 stars.)


 

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Again, I have done a full review of this already which I’ll link here. I had actually already started this book and was already on page 100 before I decided to finally finish it this month. Overall I was slightly disappointed and slightly amazed with this book. I have conflicted feelings. I gave it 55% (3 stars.)


 

Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

I have been on a role this month and have also done a review of this book which I’ll link here. I really needed this book this month and overall I was really impressed. I gave it 97% (5 stars.)


 

1984 by George Orwell

I haven’t actually finished this book yet, I’m only on page 100 and I’ve been reading it for over a week! I’m really enjoying it, I’m just having a hard time concentrating and building up the energy to read it. But I will finish it before reading anything else otherwise I’ll forget half of it because it’s such a detail heavy book. Hopefully I’ll do a book review of this once I have finished because I have a lot to say. 


 

So those are all of the books I have sort of read this month. I don’t think February will be much better but maybe I’ll start feeling better. Let me know what you read January!

Thanks for reading,

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

