REVIEW ~ Gone Girl (No-spoilers)

IMG_2137

Published: May 24th 2012

Source: Bought, Charity Shop

Pages: 422

Goodreads Avg Rating: 3.99

My Rating: 55% (3 Stars)

 

Synopsis:   On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behaviour. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?                                            

 

Review:

I’m not going to lie to you, it took me a while to finally complete this book. I really struggled with it for ages and that doesn’t normally happen with books that are really popular with others. I normally love hyped up books and speed through them, but I think I must have picked up and then put it down about four times.

I found that the reason I struggled with it so much is that the first half of the book is really slow. Basically the only thing happens is Amy going missing (which we already know,) and while there were a couple of moments where things got more interesting, it wasn’t until the half way point (and if you’ve read the book then you know where I mean) that the book actually started hooking me and I actually started enjoying it.

Another downfall with this book for me is the characters. While they are definitely interesting and unlike anything I have read before, I just hated them so much. They were the most dislikeable characters I have ever read and while I think that was the whole point I didn’t enjoy this aspect. I like to have a character that I want to cheer on and that I pray has a happy ending, but honestly I wouldn’t have minded if they both just died. 

Another thing is, I can’t comprehend the ending and honestly it took me a while to realise what had actually happened. This book was just so mental and yet so clever, with so many twists and turns I did not see coming. Multiple times while reading this book I had to put it down because the drama was too overwhelming and I almost needed a breather from it. Sometimes I would just stare at the page think ‘WTF?’ 

So while through half of this book I was thinking ‘do I even want to carry on reading this?’ I did end up kind of enjoying it. I liked the plot twists, I kind of found the craziness of it enjoying and it did get some emotions out of me. So while at the beginning I thought this would be a one star book, I ended up giving it three. Still a disappointment, especially considering all of the hype, but it was entertaining. 

Thanks for reading,

Jess xxx

 

Leave a Reply

