Book UnHaul

To most people a new year means a fresh start, and in my case a fresh bookshelf (or for the most part anyway.) I have decided that for this new year I am going to finally donate a whole bunch of books from my TBR pile that I have almost no interest in reading any more. 

Since buying a lot of these my reading tastes have changed. I am no longer as interested in YA as I was before and also I’ve decided to be more realistic with the type of classics that I actually want to read. 

I haven’t gotten rid of anything yet! So if you think I should give one of these a go then let me know and I may decide to keep it! So with no further ado here are the books that I plan on giving away.

IMG_2002

  • Just Listen, Keeping the Moon and That Summer by Sarah Dessen. I’m really annoyed at myself for buying so many of her books before seeing if I actually liked her writing. Turns out, after reading That Summer, I don’t. I have kept a couple of her books that sound more down my alley but these ones just sound uninteresting to me now.
  • Safe Haven and Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks. I have rad half of both these books, couldn’t quite get through them. I just think once you’ve read on Nicholas Sparks book, you’ve read all of them.
  • Matched and Crossed by Ally Condie. I have read matched but now I just see this as yet another YA dystopia which all seem to be very similar (apart from a select few.) I just don’t want to give my time to this series any more.
  • Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld. Same as the above reason.
  • Ingo by Helen Dunmore. This is a book I remember reading in Primary school but I have no interest to read it now, so hopefully some other little girl can find joy out of this.
  • The Luxe and Rumours by Anna Gobserson. I bought these over two years ago now. I need to come to terms with the fact that I will never read these. I feel like this would be a series where I’d enjoy the first book but never have the urge to read the rest, so why even start?
  • Ketchup Clouds by Anabelle Pitcher. I started reading this and immediately felt bored. 
  • Echoes by Laura Tisdall. I actually got sent this for review but while I feel terrible that I didn’t review this, I just can’t get through it. I just don’t think books with ‘tech talk’ in them are for me. 
  • Huckleberry Finn and the Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain. I just can’t get myself interested into reading these books. I’ve had them for so many years now, since before booktube and book blogging, so I think it’s time to accept that these classics I just do not want to read… this also goes for the following:
  • Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransom:
  • Doctor DoLittle by Hugh Lofting.
  • Gullivers Travels by Jonathan Swift
  • Dracula by Bran Stoker
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Alice in Wonderland by C.S. Lewis. I actually own this in another copy and I really hate this edition, so that’s the only reason. 

These ones below I’m actually hesitant to give away, so if you think I should keep any of them let me know!

IMG_2007

  • Heir of Night by Helen Lowe. I’ve had this fantasy book for a while and I’ve heard some not so great things about it, so I don’t think I’ll be reading this one, ever.
  • Iron King and Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa. I have a weird thing with faries in books. I just don’t know if this series is worth reading all the way through.
  • This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen. I’m just not sure if I want to get rid of this yet because it does sound good and has an ok rating on goodreads so I might give this a go. 
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. This sounds interesting but I don’t know if it’s as good as it sounds. Also, it’s a book about books, which I haven’t had much luck with previously.
  • Miss Pergrines Home for Perculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Don’t worry! I still want to read this but not this copy because unfortunately I bought it online as used and it came without a dust jacket. I feel bitter every time I look at it! 😛
  • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. I’m really not sure about this one, it does sound interesting so maybe I will give it a go?
  • Chocolate Box Girls by Cathy Cassidy. I just see no point in keeping these when I’ll never read them again, although they were enjoyable when I was younger.

 

So those are the books I plan on giving away. It feels so refreshing now to look at my shelf and only see books I read and enjoyed or books I’m looking forward to reading.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

7 thoughts on “Book UnHaul

  1. Okay, as a HUGE Sarah Dessen fan myself I must beg you to reconsider! That Summer is not one of her best in my opinion. I absolutely LOVE This Lullaby and I know that a lot of people also really like Just Listen (I read it too long ago for my opinion to really have much value here). I understand where you’re coming from with the Uglies series, but it did come before a lot of the current YA dystopia trends and I think you should at least give the first book a try. I remember loving Inkheart when I was younger. It’s kind of a book about books, but it’s also so much more than that. I would only recommend passing it up if you’re not a big fan of middle grade as it falls more in that genre than YA. I won’t feel bad if you still choose to get rid of these books, but I thought I’d let you know what I thought!

    Like

Leave a Reply

