Top 10 Books Of 2015!

Hello Guys!

In 2015, while I failed at basically all of the challenges I set myself, I was still able to read some pretty good books. So in this post I’ll share with you my top 10 (in no particular order) and why I loved them so much.

IMG_1927

And Then There Were None ~ Agatha Christie

This was my first Agatha Christie novel and for ages I’ve been wanting to read one of her classic mystery novels, and I was not disappointed. This was everything I wanted to be, a classic who did it novel that keeps you on the edge and makes you suspicious of everyone. I was a little worried going into this because I thought it would be really complex and hard to follow but it was actually written really simple and it has gotten me excited to read the rest of her novels. Next stop, Poirot.

Warbreaker ~ Brandon Sanderson

This was such a unique yet classic fantasy novel. I loved the new take on magic and the world in this was so vividly described. I’ve been wanting to read a Brandon Sanderson book for ages but I haven’t been in a series reading mood for a while now. When I saw that Warbreaker was a standalone (or is for right now) I knew it was the perfect start to my Brandon Sanderson addiction and boy was I right. I love his writing and world building and character development. Everything about this book was perfect.

All The Bright Places ~ Jennifer Niven

I know there is a lot of mixed feelings about this book because some people believe this book romanticizes depression and suicide. I completely disagree though. No book about suicide and mental illness is going to be perfect because everybody has different perceptions of it, and I love that a Young Adult book about mental illness has become as popular as it has because it’ll will get more people thinking. I personally loved the story and while it did break my heart, I’m glad it wasn’t a hapy go lucky ending because that’s just not realistic and wouldn’t have had the same impact.

I’ll Give You The Sun ~ Jandy Nelson

If I had to pick a favourite book of 2015 it would be this one. This made me feel all of the emotions, happy, sad, eye-opening, shock. This book was absolutely unputdownable and I completely fell in love with the characters. If I were to recommend anyone a book from this list, it would be this one. Absolutely loved it.

More Than This ~ Patrick Ness

I remember this one being one of the more shocking and mysterious books I’ve read this year. The entire time I was reading I genuinely had no idea where it was going and when we came to the conclusion it just seemed so clever and different. I loved the idea of this book and the execution was phenomenal. I can’t wait to read more Patrick Ness.

The Queen of the Tearling ~ Erika Johanson

Everything about this book excites me, the world, the characters, the writing, the plot, the possible movie adaptation with Emma Watson. I read this months ago yet I remember every little detail, which in my eyes is the sign of a good book. I loved the twist that it’s set in the future yet feels medieval. The experience was also fun because this was my first (and as of right now only) booksplosion read. I got the sequel for christmas and can’t wait to read it.

Coroman Strike ~ Robert Galbraith

I couldn’t pick between the two because they were both so good. These are such amazingly written mystery detective novels. The thing that made these books for me was definitely the writing (although I do also love the characters.) If you have been hesitant to branch out to other J.K Rowling novels please don’t be, she really is an amazing all round writer and I can’t wait to read Career of Evil (which I also got for christmas!)

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe ~ Benjamin Alire Saenz

This book to me is a mix of Perks of Being a Wallflower and I’ll Give You the Sun (what more could you possibly want?) It was written amazingly and I loved the characters. This book describes friendship and self discovery perfectly and if you are looking for a coming of age novel, definitely add this to your list.

The Secret Garden ~ Frances Hodgsen Burnett

This is a childhood favourite of mine. I haven’t read the book or watched the movie for years and it brought back so many memories. I remember I used to imagine there was a secret garden in my own garden and I planted bulbs and skipped around with my rope and swung on my swing pretending Dickon was pushing me (ahh childhood.) I felt so happy and relaxed while reading this and I’m so glad I decided to read it once more.

The Snow Child ~ Eowyn Ivey

This is a last minute favourite as I only read it just over a week ago but boy did it touch me. This book was bitter-sweet in so many ways. My heart broke multiple times yet there was one feeling I felt while reading this book (and don’t laugh at me for saying this,) I felt hope. Hope that even in the toughest of times it’s possible to find a way out and find a light to brighten the day. That as long as you work hard, you will survive, and as long as you are a good person you will get what you deserve. This book means a lot to me and I hope that you pick it up to.

Those are my favourite books of the year. I hope next year to read just as many good books, maybe even more. Let me know what your favourite book of 2015 was and whether you have also read any of these books.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

 

Leave a Reply

