My Year In Books 2015

2015

Hello everybody! Happy new year!! I can’t believe it is 2016 but honestly I’m not going to miss 2015. It was a bad year for me but the one good thing about it was that I read some pretty good books.

In this post I’m going to give you the low-down on the books I read and the challenges I completed!

Number Of Books I Read: 57

Most Read Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Best Book: (I’ll be doing a best books of 2015 soon so you’ll find out then!)

 Book I was disappointed by: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

 Best series I started: The Cormoran Strike novels by Robert Galbraith.

Favourite cover of a book you read in 2015: The Queen of the Tearling.

Favourite quote: “We never know what is going to happen, do we? Life is always throwing us this way and that. That’s where the adventure is. Not knowing where you’ll end up or how you’ll fare. Its all a mystery and when we say any different we’re just lying to ourselves,” – The Snow Child.

Shortest book I read: Peter Pan.

Longest book I read: Warbreaker.

Best 2015 debut you read: The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Book that made me cry: I’ll Give You The Sun.

Most unique book I read: Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson.

The Challenges:

  1. Read Lord of the Rings – Nope, I did read the Hobbit and start the fellowship of the ring but I have yet to finish them.
  2. Read 50 books – This one I was able to complete but only by 7 so it’s not as much as 2014.
  3. Read 5 before I buy – Hah! Like that was ever going to work. I wouldn’t be surprised if I bought more then I read.
  4. Start and finish 7 series – I don’t think I finished any series this year, so that has to change for 2016.
  5. Read 5 classics – I read 4, but hopefully I’ll read more in 2016.
  6. Book published by an indie press – I don’t think so, and if I did then I did unknowingly.
  7. LGBT book – Yes, multiple actually.
  8. Book that takes place in Asia/Africa/indigenous culture – No for all of them… ugh I’m so annoyed at myself.
  9. A microhistory – lmao like that was ever going to happen!
  10. An award winning book – Umm I started one?
  11. Book translated to English – I did try to but I dnfed it (The Shadow of the Wind.)
  12. Book published before 1850 – Yes, Pride and Prejudice.
  13. Book published this year – quite a few actually, including two of Sarah J Maas’s
  14. A non-fiction book – unless revision book counts theeeen nope.

So, as you can tell I utterly failed with my challenges but to be honest I haven’t really been focused on reading this year and I’ve had a lot on my mind, meaning I’ve lost interest in reading. But hopefully in 2016 I can finally get round to reading books I’ve wanted to read for a while (*cough Lord of the rings cough*)

That is my 2015 bookish wrap up, soon I will share with you my 2016 goals and 2015 favourites. 

Thanks for reading and happy new year

Jess xx

Leave a Reply

