Blogmas Day 1 ~ November Wrap Up

Hello Everybody! Welcome to the first day of blogmas!

Today I’m going to kick-start blogmas with a classic monthly wrap up and let you know what I read in the month of November!

IMG_1781

The Silkworm ~ Robert Galbraith

This was the first book I read during November and it ended up being the most perfect autumn read. It’s set in November and December and has a chilling kind of feel to it. This book follows Cormoron Strike, an ex-army detective who is hired by a women to find her husband, who happens to be an author. This book was full of shocks and surprises and I thought I had guessed what had happened about half way through but I turned out to be completely wrong, so I did not see the ending coming. After reading this book I have come to the conclusion that I would make a really bad detective. I gave it 5 STARS!!


The Darkest Minds and Never Fade ~ Alexandra Bracken

After reading The Silkworm I struggled deciding what to read next so I ended up deciding the marathon the darkest minds trilogy, which I have been wanting to read for ages now. This is a typical young adult dystopian trilogy set in America after a plague has killed off most children and those who are left have developed abnormal powers and are put into concentration camps. I really enjoyed the first book and gave it 4 stars, however I’m really struggling with Never Fade. There are so many new characters introduced that I don’t really find interesting and the stories bordering dull, I’m tempted to dnf it but I really want to finish the trilogy, so I might give it another go at a later date.


 

Twilight ~ Stephanie Meyer

Because of Never Fade I could feel myself  getting into a reading slump, so I decided I wanted to read an old favourite, which just happened to be twilight. The last time I read this book was when I was 13 and I know a lot of people have issues with these books now, but I have to say I really enjoyed it. The amount of nostalgia I felt while reading this was so comforting and exciting, I’d forgotten so much about this series and I really enjoyed visiting the story again after so long. I have it 4 stars.


 

The Secret Garden ~ Frances Hodgsen Burnett

After reading Twilight I felt like reading another childhood favourite, and that’s when I realised I couldn’t remember the last time I’d read/watched the secret garden. I remember absolutely loving this as a small child. I don’t know if I’ve ever read the book fully before but I know I’ve at least flicked through the pages and I’ve watched the movie a gazillion times (although I never noticed Maggie Smith was in it!) While reading this I couldn’t help but smile as I remembered my favourite scenes and read about characters that where my childhood fictional friends. It was such and amazing experience and I gave it 5 stars. Highly recommend everybody reads this!


 

So that is everything I read in November! Let me know what you read and I’ll see you tomorrow for my December TBR!

 

 

Leave a Reply

