Creation of my TBR (to be read) Jar

Being an avid book reader also means I am an avid book buyer. For as long as I can remember I have never been shy of going into charity shops and immediately making a beeline for the book section. Because I buy books mostly in charity shops, the books are very cheap allowing me to buy more books than I would if I bought them all brand new. This has also meant that my TBR pile has risen immensely, especially in the past two years since joining the online book community.

Recently I’ve realised I’ve been finding it hard to choose what to read next, and this has caused me to only read 3 or 4 books a month even though I know I’m capable of more. This is why I have decided to write down almost all of the books I have not read (or want to reread) and have put them in my very own TBR jar. Here is how I did it:

IMG_1694

First of I got a notepad out I hardly use any more and wrote all of my TBR books in block capitals. This took about an hour but I watched a movie while doing it so it wasn’t too painful.
IMG_1700

Next I cut all the titles up into little strips and folded them in a zig zaggy way. This again took forever but I did it while watching old vlogmas videos (getting excited for christmas!)
IMG_1705 Finally I wrote TBR onto a piece of paper, stuck it onto an old jam jar and put all of the little bits of paper inside, ready for me to pick out whenever I can’t decide what to read next. I was quite surprised by how full it was…

IMG_1709

Finally I put the jar into this little box I’ve had for years so it would look prettier on the shelf (and also so I could hide it from view from any visitors cause I’m insecure hehe.)

So that is my TBR jar. I’m not going to just pick one out at the start of ever month, my plan is to pick one out any time I don’t know what to read but I will keep you updated in monthly wrap ups and of course on my twitter.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

