October Wrap Up

So October wasn’t a very good reading month. Looking back I don’t know where my time went or what I even did with it, but apparently it wasn’t spent reading seeing as I only managed to read three books.

IMG_1629

Looking For Alaska ~ John Green

This was the first book I read in the month and was kind of a whim read. I wanted to read something that I’ve had on my shelf for a long time and I think I’ve had looking for Alaska for over two years now which is just ridiculous. The problem with John Green is that I’m not absolutely in love with his characters. Even though they’re all around my age I can’t relate to them and I sometimes find the stories too much alike his other books. While I really liked TFIOS this one and paper towns has fallen short for me. Looking for Alaska defiantly hit me in the feels, but I started to find it boring by the end and was even a little confused. So I wasn’t overly impressed. I gave this book three stars.


 Warbreaker ~ Brandon Sanderson

This was by far the best book I read this entire month. This was my first Brandon Sanderson book (I know where have I been?) and I have to say I was not disappointed at all. I knew I would love his writing and his world, he is exactly my type of writer and have lately become obsessed with his writing lectures on youtube to help me with nanowrimo. Warbreaker was a great story of two princesses, gods and love. I couldn’t stop turning the pages. I have this 5 stars.


Girl Online On Tour ~ Zoe Sugg

I didn’t have huge expectations for this book when I went into it. I remember the first one having a lot of flaws and a rather predictable plot, but it was a quick easy read which is exactly what I wanted from it. So going into this one all I wanted was a cute and quick read. That is definitely what I got, but I actually quite liked the story as well. The plot wasn’t completely predictable (although there were a lot of cliché moments,) but I think Zoe missed an opportunity big time. The main character went ‘on tour’ with her ‘rock-star boyfriend’ and travelled Europe for a summer, every 16 year old’s dream. But when they were in different capital cities, the scenery wasn’t described very accurately so I never got a sense of that city. In the end I gave this book 3 stars.


So those are the books I read in October. I’m hoping to read a little more in November but with nanowrimo going on I am now extra busy.

Thanks for reading

Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

