September Wrap Up/Mini Reviews

Hi guys

September wasn’t too great of a reading month for me. I struggled with a couple of the books I was reading and ended up only reading three 1/2 books.

IMG_1447

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

(Unfinished)

I was so excited to read this book because it was so well loved and everyone I know has raved about it. But I just found the characters so boring, felt no connection between them and just could not read on. I stopped at around 200 pages and I’m not sure if I will carry on.

This book is an adult mystery set in Spain just after the war. It was originally written in Spanish but it’s a very good translation. It’s based around this mysterious author who’s books have been disappearing and our main character is trying to find out who’s destroying them. I started  of really enjoying this book but now I’m struggling to become interested in it again.


The Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

I also struggled with this one. While I wasn’t really disappointed with it I do have a few issues that made me struggle with it, and I ended up not enjoying it as much as the  first three. I still can hardly get through the Manon chapters, and often find myself skimming the pages because I’m just not interested in that character of the storyline.

I’m sure most of you have heard of the throne of glass series but if you haven’t, (where have you been?) This series is a high fantasy based around an ex-assassin Celeana who has been imprisoned. She’s given an opportunity to be released from prison and compete in a tournament against other assassins to become the Kings champion. This series has so many twists and turns and Celeana is my absolute favourite female protagonist. She’s kiss-ass and takes no sh!t from anyone. I definitely recommend it.


I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

This book has made it on my top ten favourite books of all time. The story was so interesting and captivating and I fell in love with the characters, finding that I cared if they got hurt and got excited when they were feeling passionate. The minute I finished the book I hugged it because I was feeling so emotional, I felt all the feels while reading it. I seriously need more because I just loved it so much.

This book follows twins Jude and Noah who are really close until an accident pulls them apart. The accident affects them in different ways, while Jude seems to find herself through it, Noah changes everything about himself and becomes almost someone entirely new. This book is shows both perspectives in different times, Noahs is before the accident and Judes is after. I really enjoyed this part because both POVs were interesting and I never got bored with either of the story lines.

Another big factor in these books is art. I’ve never been one who’s good at art or really understood it, but the way Jandy Nelson used and described art made me really respect it and actually helped me understand how artists get inspired.


Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

This is my second time reading this book and was unfortunately quite disappointed with it the second time round. While I loved it the first time and gave it five stars this time I found myself frustrated quite a lot. I wasn’t a fan of how unrealistic the characters were, it seemed as if everyone had this one talent that happened to be a huge industry job wise and they seemed to be the best at everything. I also found the main character Lola frustrating because she created her own problems yet blamed everybody else for them.

However I did enjoy the relationships between the characters, especially Lola and her parents. While it’s too unrealistic for my liking I can see why it wouldn’t bother too many people as it is entertaining. I enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss, the first in the companion trilogy, a lot more than this one, and definitely recommend you read it.


That’s everything I read in September.

Thanks for reading

Jess xx

Leave a Reply

